DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys $9.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
25 7
2 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Carson W W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2021 13:12:16

I feel like this is an good break down of unarmed and close combat fighting and how it can be incorporated into Genesys. However, I feel like this is not something you would want to add to your game if you're using another setting, say Terrinoth or Android, as it can add several layers of complexity that would do more to bog down a game rather than build it back up. Ultimately, I think it would be fine if you used one of the included settings or design your own similar to those included.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 16:18:26

It's a little difficult to read with all the awards in the way. But in all seriousness, this supplement is invaluable to its rerecommended settings or anywhere you might want a bit more in-depth fist-a-cuffs. it earned those awards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2020 16:26:56

Solid book. One of my first, if not the first, book i bought on the foundry. So many genres have martial artist that this book is useful regardless of the stories we tell. Be it fantasy monks, modern day fighters, or futuristic street samurais, this book has talents and rules that your weebo players will love. it will make the unarmed fighter feel unique and special. not to mention inspiration on a few new settings that i for one had never considered. worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 03:50:33

Ready...Fight has a full roster of heavyweight content. Keith has done an amazing job with the mechanics he uses as well as putting together the setting flavor. Out of all of the mechanic additions, special attention should be paid to both his unique system for Unarmed attack "weapons" and the ability to custom build your fighters signature moves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2019 21:40:57

Fantastic supplement. This is the my first Genesys Foundry product, and I found it very helpful for enhancing the mechanical depth and cinematic fidelity of unarmed combat. The best part? I don't even play Genesys at the moment. I'm going to use a number of these rules just to enhance the Martial Artist in Star Wars. While it's not the intended use of the product, some of the new skill uses and "training montage" sections are thoroughly "transplantable" to any Narative Dice System module. I can only imagine what a purist martial artist campaign could do with this information. I'm sure I'll try it one day, and this book will be key!

Some of my major takeaways:

  • It knows exactly why you're there and exactly what narrative notes you're trying to hit, whether you're a Street Fighter, a Shaolin Monk, an Octagon Kick-boxer, or a bespandex'd Wrestling Hero.

  • Incredibly modular. Some of the new systems build upon others, such as the Grappling and Boxing-oriented mechanics, but for the vast majority, nothing is interdependent. And that makes playing with your favorite bits that much easier.

  • It does more than punch! I was pleasantly surprised to see uses for basically every skill that would be remotely relevant to a martial artist. Using deception to feint, coercion to force opponents to attack in a rage, Knowledge to learn about the opponent's elite fighting style. It's impressive.

  • The archetypes have some very fun special abilities. This definitely builds upon the more "open" style of genesis archetypes have interesting abilities. This is a absolute success in flavor meeting mechanics.

  • Training Montages. Do you like Eye of the Tiger? Do you like Rocky? It even has rules for multiple kinds of montages. By far my favorite part.

Definitely a quality product and at 10 bucks is a friggin' steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Reece F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2019 17:13:22

A great addition to any setting, this product is well thought out, high quality, and an excellent example of why Genesys Foundry is so great for the game. One hundred pages of amazing ideas that will inspire characters, even whole settings, and all the rules needed to implement your wildest creations. Ready...Fight! is a must for any GM or player thats passionate about Genesys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Danny v. E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2019 08:23:28

The benchmark by which all future Foundry supplements should be judged. Perfect lay out, sharp focus, balanced and highly original. Ready... Fight! has all the charm, thoroughness and attention to detail of the official releases and a just a tenner for a hundred page supplement it is a freaking steal! I cannot recommend this book highly enough



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2019 14:16:01

This was my first Genesys Foundry purchase. I have purchased Community Created Content from other marketplaces before and I have what I think are high standards for fan content that I am paying money for.

  1. Rules Content – The rules content in Ready…Fight! Is outstanding. Adding fighting moves and techniques as weapons that are purchased with XP rather than setting currency opens up an entire new subsystem that this game definitely had room for. I expect this will be a part of the official system in no time. I see a lot of game styles where this can create a much narrower focus of play. Logistically, I think this will help keep games running longer as it gives players something else to spend XP on rather than the race to 5 ranks in the primary skill and associated talents.
  2. New Skills and Talents – The skill changes are in line with what one would expect from a setting like this. The new talents are incredibly evocative and it’s very easy to get a mental picture of the use of the talent in the narrative setting.
  3. The Art – 85% of the art in this book is a great fit for the Genesys style. The only negative mark I will give the book is the use of photographs rather than the art to match the style of the rest of the book. This isn’t something I would give a lower rating for, just an observation.
  4. I’m still working my way through the settings, but they seem very well researched and thought-out.
  5. This book does seem more suited for players experienced with the Narrative Dice System, Genesys, Star Wars, etc. I would hesitate to recommend this to someone as their introduction to the system. It adds a higher degree of crunch to a mid-crunch system. I would suggest having a campaign to two under your belt before implementing most of the material in this book.
    I think this book will be the standard by which I judge all other Foundry projects. The price per page was fair and it was nearly all original content and original art. It is written by an experienced game designer, so the writing is very clean and flows very well. I will be bringing this to the table to play in the next couple of weeks and I will update my review to reflect the at the table experience if needed.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates