DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Mythic Game Master Emulator $6.95 $5.21
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
66 13
14 5
9 5
0 2
2 1
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Gerald U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2021 09:10:53

This is a great concept for running an RPG adventure solo. Depending on the effort you want to put into it, this can run anything from a mini-delve to a major on-going campaign. You can run it all with the help of this book.

However for it to work properly it requires a good amount of effort, ingenuity and recording. The book points you in the right direction but you have to interpret the details yourself.

A very ingenuous system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Klaas v. d. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2021 08:34:18

What an amazing tool for both solo play and to help a GM run a low-prep / prep-less game. It seems to interact well with the RPGs I have tried so far, and the explanations are very clear. The only reason it's not a 5/5 for me is the rather cringy art throughout. Doesn't bother me too much, but the book would have been better without it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by J.P. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2021 07:54:48

Our group has now used this to run a post-apocalyptic game for four sessions and it has been very entertaining so far. I've found that using this system activates all the players nicely, where in traditional games some players fall easily into idle mode (especially true with online gaming).

I would give the product 4 - or maybe even 5 - stars if it didn't have the awful underweight-big-breasted-no-underwear-wearing-women "art" in it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Nathaniel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2021 08:31:30

TL;DR Classic solo rules feel dated today yet still might be of value if you’re looking for a generic GM emulator.

Mythic Game Master Emulator (MGME) was my first purchase from drivethrurpg.com and its age does show. At the time, solo rules for decision making were a new concept to me. The general idea was to make a wish for the fiction, roll percentile dice to see if it comes to pass, then adapt when it doesn’t. That central idea remains sound. The desire for a solid solo game that isn’t choose-your-own-adventure still resonates with me. While I do have nostalgia for CYOA games, it was eye opening to see a different style. However, the implementation in MGME feels lacking today. Is it still worth a read? Maybe. With so many more solo options on the market, you might be able to find something more tailored to what you want in a system. Especially from the mid-quarantine boom that found so many players trying to get a TTRPG fix without their usual face-to-face game groups. Myself, I’ve preferred the Ironsworn solo TTRPG experience… but note that it’s a game that was released more than ten years after MGME.
As a generic GM emulator, MGME might still find a valuable place in your collection. But it could also use an update, drawing upon the past decade of solo gaming innovation. Aside: Throughout the book, the author appeals to “logic.” For me, these calls fall short. Trying to cover inductive and deductive thought to explain how the system works? Not very clean and ultimately not of much use. And for what it’s worth, Sherlock Holmes actually used abductive reasoning, regardless of what Doyle called it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2021 20:22:35

Interesting system, with absolutely abysmal art that makes it an embarrassment to bring to a group of players.

Would pay double / give 4 stars for a version with no pictures at all..



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by William B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2020 01:43:12

I've been trying to fit this into a game for years, but never quite got around to it. I think I like the IDEA of the Mythic GME, but when it comes to making literary decisions in my game worlds, I simply want to control all of that myself. One thing I did really like is the "chaos meter", which I'm using a highly stripped down version of in my current game. It's a nice way to escalate events in a game along a reasonable curve.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Farooq A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2020 01:42:55

originally posted here: https://farooqsgaming.blogspot.com/2019/08/mythic-game-master-emulator-review.html

The Mythic Game Master Emulator provides three powerful tools that allow you to play tabletop roleplaying games without a GM: The Fate Chart, the Random Event tables, and the Adventure Sheet.

The Fate Chart is the core of the Mythic GME system and provides the basic foundation for play. It is a complicated yes/no system, a so-called "oracle", that is meant to handle any random question with an unexpected result that would normally be asked of a DM. The Fate chart provides the entirety of Mythic's task resolution system, and the outcome of every action should be posed as a yes/no question to be rolled for on the chart. The Fate chart also acts as the main content generator for the system, and it is implied that worldbuilding tasks such as setting up the features of a setting, NPC encounters, and social situations can all be handled through it, though there is an admonishment in the book not to go overboard with dice rolls but use logic instead.

The Random Event Focus and Event Meaning tables are the only concrete tables in the book. They present a list of items that, when combined, must be interpreted to create a new event occurance in your game. The GME says to use these tables only on a double number dice roll, but they're also useful at any point when you're unsure of what to do next in game. The Event Meaning tables are essentially just tools for guided inspiration in story telling, much the same as Rory's Story Cubes, or a Tarot Deck, or any other such tool that invites creative interpretation. The Event Focus chart is meant to give the Event Meanings a concrete effect in your game.

The Adventure Sheet is the framing device that holds the rest of the game together. Every game session, or every adventure, is meant to be a collection of scenes in which a dramatic conflict is posed and resolved. The worksheet itself contains entries for scene setups and resolutions, as well as places to list NPC actors and story threads. The story threads are also a unique idea that provide guidance to the flow and purpose of the game, as well as adding another element of unpredictability.

I found the Mythic GME to be more useful as a creative writing tool rather than a fun game to play solo. In fact, when it comes to specifically playing solo, I found the experience of using the Mythic GME to be more akin to doing English Literature homework with dice or doing my taxes instead of actually playing a game.

The greatest weakness of the Mythic RPG is that it tries to be completely generic. I understand that the goal is to allow the players to fit it into whatever setting or type of story they want, but as a result it loses concrete mechanics to actually support an individual fantasy. In fact, for any type of game you want to play, it is better to use a system with concrete mechanics and only use the Mythic GME to fill in the missing "gaps".

The traditional role of a Game Master is to describe the environment to the players, and to narrate the results of their actions. Or, to restate in technical jargon, the GM provides content generation and action resolution.

The sea-change, breakthrough moment of the Mythic GME is in using the Fate chart for action resolution. Every action can be posed as a yes/no question and rolled for a result on the Fate chart. Every scene should begin with a question describing the dramatic conflict ("how do my player characters overcome this immediate challenge") and a series of answers rolled on the Fate chart can provide the resolution ("are they successful"). Once you separate the distinct tasks of content generation and action resolution from one another, the use of the Fate chart, Adventure Sheet and Event tables become more clear, but the book itself does not do this.

Instead, it confuses the issue by using the Fate chart for content generation and action resolution, and then admonishing the player not to go overboard with content focused questions. A better solution would be to use the many random charts, terrain, events, and encounters that can be found in an RPG such as D&D or on online blogs for content generation.

In my own games, I found the Mythic GME of limited use. I could create a game world straight out of the random tables in the Dungeon Master's Guide and adventure through it, and I could use all the rest of that game's mechanics to resolve my successes. I only needed the Mythic GME to fill in the gaps of certain elements that weren't immediately obvious. The Mythic system might have changed the way we see RPGs, and probably kicked off the whole solo RPG community, and its definitely worth the read to understand how, at a fundamental level, the tasks of a GM work and how they can be represented mechanically through dice rolls.

However, I will complain that this book is presented backwards. It shows you its most important mechanic first, the Fate Chart, followed by everything that's connected to it. This leaves you to puzzle out for yourself how to actually use all its mechanics. Instead, it should have presented the Adventure Sheet first, as its the first thing that you'd pull out for your game session, and explained it first before moving through the Randomness chapter, Event Tables and then Fate Chart, as that's generally how you would use them during actual play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Davide C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2020 05:33:30

I have tried this product for two months now, after an initial period to adapt to the new game style, I have found it useful, fast to play and rules are easy to remeber



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2020 07:59:15

The GM E is the heart of the game. I've used it for Solo play of RPGs and table top games. Highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 16:38:09

An interesting read, but man that art is distracting and out of date.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Jason L.
Date Added: 12/01/2018 21:29:31

There are free systems avalible that are much better at giving relivent information for GM emulation.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2018 00:10:28

Ran a solo game of 1st edition AD&D using Mythic. Game went like this:

  1. Party enters dungeon, they're supposed to locate a bad villain and distract him long enough for the town militia to thwart his forces.
  2. Party encounters a heavy wooden door that's stuck (not locked just stuck). Dwarven fighter steps up and kicks down the door.
  3. Giant centipedes behind the door surprise the party and promptly swarm them, killing the party off with their venomous bite attacks within just 2 rounds.
  4. ??? TPK ???

Honestly, even though my entire party literally died within the first 20 minutes of playing, I still had a blast and am gearing up to run more games. Mythic is system agnostic but I like old school D&D which is why I chose to run it. This book is an absolute must-have for anyone serious about running solo games or GM-less games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Jay W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2018 19:12:46

When it said Emulator I expected it to be paired with a program that did the randomized set up. Considering there are free programs that will give you a random set up like Rpgsolo.com I was expecting if I was paying money I would have gotten a higher quality program component but this is only a book with some charts and storyboarding sheets. I would ask for a refund but there was obvious thought and care put into the system.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by 5E S. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2017 22:48:51

Fantastic system - obviously a lot of thought has gone into it. I like the emphasis on creativity on the part of the players. From my point of view, this is a great resource for DMs, as you can create your own adventure by actually PLAYING THROUGH IT and creating it as you go!!!

The open nature of the system really appeals to me, and it works incredibly well with D&D 5e. Amazing work :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:26:36

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates