DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
25 2
9 11
4 0
1 0
0 0
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2020 06:24:46

Finally, the Pool of Radiance: The entirety of Season 1 of Adventurer's League was based on the Pool of Radiance videogame and its accompanying 1E module, Ruins of Adventure. There have been hints all season that the Cult of the Dragon is looking for the Pool of Radiance.

So now, with only two modules left in the season, someone remembers that oops, we'd better actually have the Pool of Radiance turn up. And it does, and it's... underwhelming. It's hard to say what would have been satisfying, but this largely isn't it.

I should probably mention that this module completely ignores the lore about Pools of Radiance built up in the novels Pool of Twilight and Pools of Darkness - but that's fine, as Realms canon generally has done its best to ignore those two books and instead rely on their videogame versions (if they have to mention them at all). Which would bother me less if the Tomb of Miltiades hadn't been mentioned elsewhere in the season (and located in entirely the wrong place) but that's another story.

The module's placement in the overall Season 1 story is awkward. There is a certain outcome of events here that the module clearly wants: Vorgansharax needs to get some water from the Pool, in order to invoke Tyranthraxus and have the foreshadowed callback to the original Pool of Radiance adventure. And this is the outcome that AL canon has accepted happened. But making it happen is... difficult. With luck, and good players, and deft DMing, you can pull it off, but otherwise you may have to let it go in order to avoid railroading players in ways they won't appreciate, or cheating them of their deserved victory.

Putting aside the continuity issues, does it stand on its own merits? Largely yes. The substantive encounters are nuanced and memorable, particularly everything after players actually arrive at the crater. The feature enemy is a nice touch, and is something that hasn't turned up in AL Season 1 prior to this point.

It does feature the same problem of many AL modules, in that the process of actually getting to the main event is tedious and pointless. There's a brave effort to make use of the 5E travelling rules, and thereby throw a bone to any rangers in the party, but those rules are terrible and boring and interacting with them does no-one any favours. A random encounter table is included, featuring some interesting encounters, but neither the pacing of the plot nor the time limits of Adventurer's League will permit you to use it. (Nor are random encounter tables ever a particularly good idea.)

Again, DMs should do their best to minimise the overland travel, and get players to the crater as quickly as possible. Once there, it's a serviceable module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 18:55:15

My players really enjoyed this, expecially the finale.
My tip would be to enhance the random effects of the pool. Make every touch of the pool have an effect. My players started doing this during the big fight at the end and it really amped up the fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2019 22:23:51

This mod is moody and atmospheric: there's also a fair amount of misdirection. The final encounter can be a surprise for the PCs: was certainly the case when I played it. There's no particular tactical aspects that stand out for the combats. Overall, a good but not great mod. Fun if you have nostalgia for the old Gold Box PC games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2019 13:47:26

Pros:

  • Lots of different ways this scenario can play out. Certainly has replayability.
  • Excellent flavor, and the slow but steady unwrapping of plot mystery is well done.

Cons:

  • NOT for novice DMs. This scenario has a LOT of moving parts. Preparation time is a must, and even then the DM will have to be flexible on determining exactly what happens depending on player choices.
  • Will almost certainly run over 4 hours. Players will be spending lots of time deciding what to do.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 21:42:54

The story underlying this adventure captured my imagination. It draws in some interesting threads from ToD season and ties them together for some big plot hooks and reveals that ends with Escape from Phlan and then of course Reclamation of Phlan. Lots of content, even for a full four hour session but ultimately quite satisfying



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 04:30:34

A fun adventure. It ran about on time but we didn't do much with the role playing at the prison in the intro and there was only 1 random encounter on the way to the crater so it might run long for you. There is a lot of material about where the cultists are at what time but my players chose to ambush them right away and I expect most parties will as well. My characters were unable to take out the orc guards silently so the alarm was raised but I think that worked out better for them because the characters fled from the perytons down the narrow passage way and were able to take on the orcs piecemeal rather than as a group of 12 along with an orc boss which they would have encountered had they snuck past. It is really important to have the goblin Parg survive and go with the characters so he can pass on the "story" of what happened to Kranun. Despite encountering Kranum on p17, the explanation of his tactics and villain speach is on p20-21 so look carefully for that. The reason that I gave this adventure 4 rather than 5 stars is that there isn't a way for the characters to know what happens to Tyranthraxus's spirit after they kill Kranun, there is not an obvious way to save Kranun who seems like a good guy, and the fact that if the characters sneak in, it will make the final boss fight more difficult rather than less difficult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2018 21:17:21

MY very cautious party managed to avoid most of the enounters. When they happened upon the main encounter at the end, judicious use of the appropriate spell caused an anticlimatic, but happy ending.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 21:48:18

One player within the group wasn't happy to hear about the earth sharks and not face any while going through random encounters. However the players faced the challenges and dealt with both oppositions in a unique way that allowed for some interesting engagements. Overall, an enjoyable mod I'd like to run again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:05:52

Wow! It was my first Tier 2 as a n00b DDAL DM. IMO it required quite a bit of prep time to get the timelines/story/scenarios down, but it ran wonderfully. No matter how much I prepared, my players did something different which was exciting. The whole story unfolds at the table - a great opportunity to get to know your players (for better, or sometimes for worse...heh).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2017 19:21:20

An engaging module that provides both RP elements, and enjoyable combats. It's a small shame that the adventure doesn't do more with the titular Pool of Radiance itself, but I suppose the excuse is that such magics are well beyond the scope of a tier 2 module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by lowell s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 22:51:42

This module has some great RP situations along with some good combats including the final battle. Several different ways for the players to approach this so the GM needs to be ready.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 08:04:29

A fun and interesting adventure. A bit confusing for dm's when it comes to prep work, there are a lot of curve balls and adjustments that may have to be made on the fly depending on what players to. But the adventure engages everyone, encourages creativity, and has some great fights. I recommend raising the "party strength" a bit above what it actually is if you have experienced players at your table. Find a happy medium between the determined party strength and the next tier above.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 17:23:55

DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e) PDF Printability: White background. Old-style wasted/boilerplate pages. Fantasy Grounds Module: No Magic Item Rarity: Rare Digital Certs: No (only physical certs existed; no longer in print) Spellbook: Yes



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates