DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
37 20
15 26
4 3
2 3
0 0
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2019 06:00:50

This module is a nice, simple dungeon crawl that comes complete with a DM PC cleric that you can use to snark at your party. This is a great module to present to new players as it provides some interesting roleplaying encounters and evocative scenes, while still being linear enough to keep them on the rails, and also having a safety measure (the aforementioned NPC cleric) who can help them if they are in trouble.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Isaac H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 02:18:30

First module I ran, smooth and straightforward! Maybe a bit too strong for a group of lvl1s but worked out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by larry m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2019 01:02:13

Simple and straight forward. Just what my group was looking for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:59:38

This is a very solid dungeon crawl, which introduces some important plot elements and NPCs for the larger Season One AL storyline. The option of helping or hindering the Welcomers was a great addition, and the associated story awards made my players feel like their decisions would have consequences in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2018 12:51:43

This is both the first AL module I played, and the first I DMed, a couple years later. It's pretty standard, and if it didn't have Cassyt to act as a sort of tour guide, it would pretty much just be an inexplicably weird crypt. Her inclusion helps to give the adventure some context, and I don't think there's a group I've seen where nobody has gotten attached to her. All in all, it's a pretty solid low-level adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:39:10

A fun dungeon crawl with a cool setting. The npc guide as well as other npcs in the dungeon make this module interesting with it's character ideas and the conflicts between them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2018 14:49:40

Dues for the Dead is a fun dungeon crawl with some good opportunities for role-play. There are also some areas where strategic and creative thinking are rewarded. An interesting aspect of this story is that the Kelemvorites strongly discourage wanton looting of the 'residents' of Valhingen graveyard, which I think is a great lesson for newish players. It may also be a way to make the point to any 'looting hobo' (not quite as annoying as a murder hobo) that there are consequences to your in-game actions. My suggestion is to have Doomguide Glandon withhold the GP reward from the players if he is aware of them looting the dead (though I'd probably still let them keep the magic item reward) - this will further emphasize that their actions were at the very least leaning toward evil, without severely punishing them. I would n't reveal this to the players until the end of the adventure - let them make their own choices and deal with the results!

I'm sure many people have noted that part 14a refers to a trap in part 12 that doesn't exist. I just added a Magic Mouth trap (similar to part 3), but anything that would alert and attract the zombie guards from 14 would do.

I think it is super cool that this adventure links back to the Pool of Radiance, a piece of D&D history. But for some reason, the adventure is written to minimize the chance of the PCs actually figuring that out in-game. I would like the wizard to leave behind a little more evidence, so the players could have the "Ah Ha!" moment that I had while reading the adventure background.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrea C. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 18:05:27

As someone who doesn't enjoy dungeon-crawling type of modules, this was surprisingly fun to run. The encounters were interesting enough without it the traps/consequences being too obvious. Although it was somewhat difficult to convinces certain types of player characters to assist the NPCs, especially if this was that character's first time to encounter the Doom Guides.

The scale of the maps could have been better defined, as I needed to make a new grid to 'lay over' the ones provided in the module to have a better sense of how big each section was. But overall, this was a fun module to run and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 11:38:51

Great adventure for a first time DM. Pretty linear so hard to go off the rails. some inconsistencies though particularly around locked doors and naming convention for the enemies so do your homework or get caught out in the moment when things dont make sense!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 17:31:26

The Good.

I loved the setup of this adventure and the fact that it is realistic dungeon near an urban center. It allows the players to jump right into the action and start making decisions about how they want to explore rather than shifting to a travel montage with 1d4 random encounters.

The combination of social encounters and traps help keep the players on their toes and keeps the adventure from turning into a hack-n-slash fest.

The Bad.

As with most dungeon designs, I found the interior layout a little strange. I recognize that you want the players to explore their way through the dungeon but forcing them down one path with only one option to deviate from it was annoying for me. I would love to see the map design representative of an actual working crypt with the occasional cave in if you want to block off a passage way.

The Awesome.

All in all I loved this adventure. It is a great introduction to players on the ins and outs of fighting undead and continues the Season 1 storyline for Adventures League very well. I recommend getting this and all the Phlan adventures as a way to take your players from levels 1 to 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 04:33:58

This was the second module I ever DMed (the first was one of the 5 mini-adventures). It was a pretty easy onboarding. The module itself is a self-contained dungeon crawl and provides plenty of support for the DM.

It felt like it was fun for the DM and the party, and I've run and played it with parties ranging from all 1st level characters through mostly 3rd and 4th level characters and it's held up. There's exploration and combat and a bit of role play opportunity. I can definitely recommend it for someone looking for a module to get started DM'ing or for newish players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 17:18:47

If you want a module that gives a feel of an old fashioned dungeon dive, look no farther than Dues for the Dead.

Dues for the Dead is my go-to when I need to pick up something and run it on the fly. It has all 3 pillars, exploration, RP, and combat, though the RP can be a bit light depending on how engaged the DM makes the NPC companion (presuming they go with the party). A fair amount of combat, even for an AL module, but it is generally balanced enough to not drain too many resources before the final fight, especially if the DM allows a short rest at some point. The final fight itself can be a real challenge as getting to the main baddies without alerting them is incredibly difficult.

One main strenght of this module is the clear goal: enter the crypt and find out where the undead are coming from. Other AL modues often lose sight of the actual goal or it is unclear how what the party encouters ties into the initial mission given. I find this module does not have that problem.

Highly recommend it, and have always had a good time running it with various group comps and make ups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Oskar R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 10:08:44

Nice dungeon crawl but nothing special. This one was good and players had fun but wasn't as memorable as some of the other Phlan modules; though, the players are still wondering where that wizard went. Players had some discussion about the treasures in the catacombs but decided pretty quickly that they didn't want to risk the wrath of the priesthood of Kelemvor. Of course, somewhat set off the lightning trap and then everyone in the party yelled at them for touching things in the crypts. The Welcomers were fun too, partially because a string on natural 1s on insight checks led most of the party to believe the story they gave the players for why they were down there to begin with.

I made some significant alterations to the final battle but it is fine the way it is. I kept the invisible knight and the shock on the moon druid's face was priceless.

I'd recommend as a fun, but not spectacular, dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 20:17:29

DDEX 01-04:Dues for the Dead, now this is what I am talking about the first "D" in D&D, and the first real dungeon event in the DDEX 01-XX series, ya I know Skokol Keep not much of dungeon more like a cave, in any event the players get to run the full gauntlet of dungeon baddies, traps, NPC, monsters, and what's this a dragon cultist. The only drawback here was that this is a two hour module but to give it justice, especially at a 7 player table, took me 3 1/2 hours to complete. Along with editing WOTC really ought to think about adjusting the times in some of these modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:20:30

It is an early dungeon crawl for beginning adventurers, easily embellished with lore about Kelemvor and his order. It's enjoyable to run, even for those who don't like doing dungeon crawls at all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates