DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 3
2 9
1 6
0 0
1 0
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Francis B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2020 21:18:14

Format is of 5 mini-adventures designed to introduce the themes of season 2 (Elemental Evil, intrigue, deception). The adventures are tied together through connections to an ongoing noblewoman’s party at which the adventurers are hired to work. Parties of this type are a recurring theme in the DDEX2 adventures, and this one works well enough, especially if the DM makes use of the noble’s steward Saul to move things along. In reading through these, I found some stronger than others, and in my games focused on DMing Hatred Like Clawed Wind and Envy Like Crushing Earth, for which I’ve put details below.

Hatred Like Clawed Wind - Works very well as a straight-forward combat focused adventure. The warding on the trap doors is a nice touch as a slight puzzle for the players.

Envy Like Crushing Earth - To strengthen the hook here, I like to have Saul and the innkeeper (Chroomeq) approach the players to inform them that Chroomeq’s Inn is providing food and drink for the party - and that with the sabotage, the party is at risk of running out! I find this provides some urgency and humor to an otherwise mild hook. Once at the tavern, I’ve found that the players really like playing up the investigative part a bit, and I’d let them plan out various plans to watch for vandals around the premises, only to be surprised by the noises from the basement. I did find that getting the players to follow the gnome is a little hard - having her call up that she needs help was one method that worked to motivate the players a bit.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2020 16:29:45

A solid start to Mulmaster. City of Danger follows the same format as AL season 1's intro, with five one-scene scenarios that players can play one, some or all of. They vary in quality quite dramatically, but they're memorable, surprising, and introduce key aspects of Mulmaster in an effective way. They're great for new players or new level 1 characters looking to adventure in Mulmaster during the Elemental Evil events. It suffers a little (as did last season) from being written without a clear view forward to where the season was going, and not everything introduced here is followed up on in meaningful ways later. And not every encounter is gold. But it basically does what it sets out to do.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2020 07:40:04

Five solid, diverse, simple, interesting tales, permitting players to engage in roleplay, combat, dungeon crawls, and every aspect of D&D. i run this regularly at nearby gameshops.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 21:51:55

Five nice mini-adventures that make a nice intrduction to the city of Mulmaster.
Love Like Burning Flame was a memorable one, but I've been told that it's not appropriate for Valentine's Day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by lowell s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 13:17:53

standard 4 intro modules for the season. each is 60 minutes so you can can 1 or 2 at a time and not worry about not finishing



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 15:25:34

This module did a few things pretty well. Introducing the players to the city, giving them a taste of the multitude of adventure sources around town. The difficulty was well matched to a somewhat inexperienced group when I ran it, being slightly challenging, but managable. There were a few glaring errors that caused confusion initially however. One major one as an example was an inn that is given some background, but referred to by a completely different name in the rest of the text. Overall, a solid introductory adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2018 20:26:09

As I played out this module for my players, they took to it easily enough to where there were few areas that stood as difficult for them to face. The puzzles in the grotto were difficult as they had to think around those and try to prepare what came next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2018 01:23:32

I had the opportunity to run this module for my local gamestore and had friends playing when I ran it for the first time. I really enjoyed the Elemental Air, Fire, and earth cult missions. Especially when everyone at the table freaked out at a Hippogrif joining the fray. But really felt as though the "water" trail was the least exciting, just felt as though it was just thrown in there. But the players loved interacting with Ma at the leaning boot and really enjoyed the introduction that the first three trails brought to the table.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jesse P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2018 16:28:09

The series has a wonderful way of making sure characters know their way around the city. I only wish each one tied together somehow like picking up a item or NPC follower. The party gimmick was getting old after about #3.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 07:56:28

While this adventure does a decent job of introducing the setting of the city of Mulmaster, and includes RP, puzzles, and combat, I feel that the delivery of the story elements is somewhat clumsy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2017 20:04:44

This is a pretty solid introductory module. There's some nice variety in the mini-adventures, with a good mix of roleplaying opportunities, challenging-but-fair combats, and puzzles and skill challenges.

The PDF is protected, but it does include bookmarks, which is good. They're organized in kind of an odd way—everything is sorted under a big "City of Danger" folder, which seems a bit pointless, and the rewards and appendices for each mini-adventure are outside of their mini-adventures' respective folders, which is a strange choice—but I'll take it. There's no Fantasy Grounds mod file, but maps are provided for two of the five mini-adventures. I feel it would have been more helpful if we'd gotten one for "Hatred like Clawed Wind" rather than "Envy like Crushing Earth", as the latter encounter has fairly simple terrain that would be easy to resolve in theatre of the mind, whereas the former takes place on a rooftop where relative positions can make a big difference (cuz people can get knocked off the edge, and there's like a whirlwind in the middle that you can't go through). But if we can't have maps for all five, then better two than none.

The hook for "Hatred like Clawed Wind" bothered me a little, as it box-texted its way past a fistfight where it seems to have been assumed that the PCs just stood and watched without doing anything; a lot of heroes might not stand for that. I tweaked it so that they arrived just as the fight was broken up by the City Watch.

The puzzle in "Greed like Fathomless Water" contains an error; the numbers on the pictures are swapped, which makes the hints nonsensical.

In general, the combats seem balanced. There were some close calls, and my players definitely went down a few times, but they still pulled out victories in the end, which is about where I like the difficulty to be tuned.

The adventure would have benefited from a sidebar explaining the Edicts of Arcane Banishment, as they're a big part of Mulmaster, and if the DM isn't clued in, it's entirely possible to have arcane spellcaster PCs running around casting arcane spells all over the place without realizing they're supposed to either join the Cloaks or risk being banished from the city.

On the whole, I like the mod. It seems well-designed, and it does a good job introducing players to the themes of the season and foreshadowing the threat of the elemental cults. My players had fun with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2017 17:07:39

This module was a great introduction to Mulmaster and the elemental cults. I think it's one downfall is that there are so many things/people/other moving parts to keep track of that it is really hard for a DM to just pick up and run. Other than that, I think it's great and really serves as a good introduction to the season 2 storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 17:49:47

This is a great adventure set to do. There are a few writing mistakes, but other than that it is fun. It gives different challenges. It also allows for choices. Great for all ages.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 07:58:19

Plot: Detailed and very evocative of the multi-faceted Mulmaster setting. Great hook to get the characters roleplaying and lots of investigation, with a great introduction to each of the cults.

Pacing: Each mini-adventure is difficult to run in an hour, and can easily run to two hours or more. Lots of bang for buck with lots of adventuring possible for a group of new players especially.

Difficulty: This is one of the hardest -01 adventures for a new DM to run as there are so many characters and organisations to convey. It's easy to get overloaded by the detail. Also a couple of the encounters toward the end can be very challenging and have to be managed carefully to avoid overwhelming a smaller party.

Rewards: Low, as you'd expect for 5 x 100xp minis. No permanent magic items.

Highlights: Each adventure is very different and memorable. High towers, burning buildings, buried gnomes and underwater caves all made for interesting settings, with lots of puzzles too.

Problems: Some of the NPC motivations and actions are a bit contrived and implausible, and hence difficult to convey successfully. Definitely more difficult to run without preparation.

Overall: My favourite -01 adventure, a winner with new players and one I've enjoyed running multiple times.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 14:43:33

Recommend Purchase: Yes Playing this adventure counts towards the Season 2 quest: 'Benefits of the Brotherhood of the Cloaks' XP Range: 375-500

Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates