DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2017 09:27:35

I love the idea. I love this game's world and its inhabitants. Linear d6 system is also cool. However, now that I'm about to lead a Grimm game, I found what I don't love. The thick maze of intertwined trait advantages and disadvantages, requiring to have read and memorized a lot of the book. Without a concise guidance for newcomers. Will have to make a lot of notes to avoid being lost in the seemingly simple rules. But I'll do it, the game is worth the effort. Damn, maybe I should write a beginner's manual for this game later on?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
Publisher: Word Mill
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2015 15:01:14

Great game - and a great GM / Gm-less tool! I've not yet digested the system enough to use it (just skimmed through the PDF for the first time).

And still: its' brilliance shines through clearly.

Damn, I'd never EVER imagine a tabletop RPG system where not only the world, not only characters and events can be improvised on-the-fly... but RULES??

Wow! Deciding, say, the rules of magic half-way thru adventure - isn't it incredible? And whatever else may come up during adventures?

Which automatically means - we get an ideally customized ruleset while we play. Because it's we, the particular group of players, who choose the rules. The way we like them!

I love this Mythic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elusive Legends: Building Story in Tabletop RPGs
Publisher: Diceless Hero Games
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2015 14:43:57

Really good tool for both GM's and game designers. There is time for shooting (intuitively) in the dark sky, and time for clear structure. I love how this book presents exact points to pay attention to - and also when and in which cases. Even more, Russel Brown analyzes how the story is built in four distinctly different rulesets: D&D, DW, Fate and Hillfolk. Great!

... damn, now I want to buy Hillfolk... :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elusive Legends: Building Story in Tabletop RPGs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Complete KOBOLD Guide to Game Design
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2015 15:13:07

I've already read a bunch of books on GMing and related topics. All have been good - but this one is outstandingly best one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete KOBOLD Guide to Game Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fiasco Classic
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2014 15:08:02

A really standout game. Fabulous, I'll say - and innovating for sure.

Upon reading about it first, all I noticed was that it was GM-less. Didn't impress me... When I had read several high praises and gave it a try, Fiasco proved to give me something I didn't have in 'traditional' RPGs.

I feel Fiasco like taking the most memorable episodes of several 'traditional' tabletop sessions, and having played just these in one session. All the not-so-epic episodes just eliminated. Like in cinema, as the creators of Fiasco say: you don't watch every damn mundane thing, likewashing pots and laundry - only the adventurous moments.

The innovative side (in my humble opinion) is how Fiasco manages the creation of characters, plots and outcomes. And - for surprise to those used to roll dice for attacks, saving throws, damage, cure wounds, ad infinitum - no need for any! Outcome voted by others, and it works brilliantly. Perhaps because no one is annoyed for a failure: after all, it's a Fiasco, folks!

One thing I noticed is, that for those playing Fiasco first time it may take more than those 2.5 hours some say. For us it took more than 4 hours. But a pure pleasure nontheless! I felt like we could record the game as a ready-made movie script.

Also I believe that a session of Fiasco can be a funny way to produce possible scenarios for other game systems.

Have a nice Fiasco!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco Classic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Game Master: A Guide to the Art and Theory of Roleplaying (digital only)
Publisher: Tobiah Panshin
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2014 11:46:18

I love this book! It showed me a couple of serious mistakes I was gonna put in my present work, a DIY-TTRPG book with adventure set in 16th century Courland.

I'm a gamer with a history of couple dozens of games, half of them as a GM. And with thousands of interesting PDF's on my PC (most of them from DriveThru). I've read a lot more than played till now, but it is changing.

I've studied Jamison's Gamemastering, and Vecchione's Never Unprepared. That said, this book still gave me a new perspective.

Gamemastering gave me first insight of how to do the job. I like Never Unprepared for it's exact perspective of GMing, from project management viewpoint. But the book under review shows me a lot of why's and how's. It explained me tangibly more on player psychology (after all, the GMing is revolving around it inevitably!).

And I'm grateful for PWYW option. Next time I make a purchase, I'll certainly add a fiver to the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master: A Guide to the Art and Theory of Roleplaying (digital only)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Publisher: Encoded Designs
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2014 15:22:29

So many good - and true - praises! Really, this book turns the GM's prep work almost into exact science. It really puts things in a good perspective! The author even analyzes possible 'short-of-time' scenarios and suggests how to cope with them. Love it!

I'm not a very experienced GM (just a dozen sessions), and this book showed me many things puzzling me before.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mindjammer - The Roleplaying Game - FREE PREVIEW
Publisher: Modiphius
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2014 09:58:14

Fabulous work. I'd say, awe-inspiring, both for content and design. Especially the amount and quality of detailed info about all possible game aspects, from worlds to tech to factions. Makes me wanting to play it right away.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mindjammer - The Roleplaying Game - FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Archaia Entertainment LLC
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2013 13:38:50

This game is awe inspiring! And comics, too! As soon as I found them as PDF's on DriveThru I was squeaking with joy, and bought it at once. I love the idea, and the illustrations. The heroic mouse with a sword facing the serpent... so cute!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2011 03:36:00

Words fail me to describe how wonderful it is. Unbelievably vivid and thoroughly made. Can just imagine how much work has been put in producing this absolutely amazing piece. Looking forward to find a group of interested people to play with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates