DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition $29.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
222 15
43 6
15 4
6 2
4 4
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Tai J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2021 07:39:27

The book is phenomenal.

It is actually a tome, hardback, solid, well bound, the artwork is absolutely stunning and for the price it's amazing. I am in love with this book, and am so glad that I got it.

On receiving this masterpiece, I am off now to buy the Tarot Deck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Paweł M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2021 13:48:05

Absolutely one of my all-time favorites. Huge amount of information in really nice looking book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Timothy L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2020 11:15:41

The book looks really good, and seems to be well-bound. It collects a huge chunk of the Mage: The Ascension materials originally released. It gives advice on how to alter the setting based on the way the Storyteller wants to handle the materials included. Mage is famous for its free-form magic system. On one hand, it allows for creativity not found in many role-playing games. On the other, it can cause chaos at the table. There are some modifications to the magic rules that attempt to deal with this problem. Playing Mage has been some of the best role-playing I've ever done. It has its flaws, but if you're into Urban Fantasy, witches and wizards, it remains an amazing game. The sheer size this book makes it intimidating, but it also makes it a good buy. Overall, I give this really high marks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:24:48

I like this game a lot in theory. The concepts and setting are very cool, and this edition has pretty much everything you want from classic Mage in one place. The problem comes when you're trying to decide what can be done with the various spheres of magick, and what constitutes coincidental vs. vulgar magick. In practice, magick tends to turn into arguments or silliness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2020 18:25:16

I received the book today and wow it's huge. 20 years of collated information and rules will do that I guess. It brings a lot of information from the various editions and source books into one big huge tome of knowledge for your players and GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Kyle S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2020 13:57:34

My favorite White Wolf game of all time! The 20th Anniversary is a FANTASTIC combination of so many of the amazing qualities of the game. They include the core game along with rules for Technocratic mages as well as other 'independents'.

They've taken the time to refine the Sphere's and a way to keep track of Rotes and even explain ways to make more common spells / rotes more refined so players can have a 'specialty' in the game. Artwork is as always beautifully drawn. If you were a fan of Mage: The Ascension in the 90's and early 2000's, you will absolutely love the 20th Anniversary Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Austin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2020 21:13:01

I knew exactly what I was getting 5 stars for what was in the Mage 20th book. I love Mage and was amazed that they were printing off Premium editions. I purchased one, and when it came into my house and opened it, I was more than mildly dissapointed. The pages slipped out of the case and found out that the thing had split from its cover during shipping and might as well be a book that was faxed to me on a color printer(They are sending me a replacement!).

The book and content is amazing, by far one of the most interest RPGs out there. The printing I will say is very pretty, I cannot deny that, the Printer's color makes the pages come to life in a way I know can hook players with just images and ideas.

The delivery, as well as the quality of what was recieved was not worth roughly 120, however, I put in a ticket with DriveThruRPG to get this fixed. I have recieved contact with them within 20-40 minutes of my ticket, while I was intitally in doubt, the Customer Service here is not in any doubt. In fact the customer service response is QUICKER than any other retailer I have worked with!

Thank you Drive Thru!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2020 04:54:50

The sheer size of this book is intimidating, and some may find the writing style grating.

There are some new developments in terms of creating your own paradigm and style of magic, which still hangs on the core freeform magick (sic) system, while the setting material and various factions and groups accumulated through the years are all there. This very much an immersive, kitchen sink setting. A game some will undoubtedly love, but others will find it a bit much!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jacob F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2019 12:04:36

it's mage, it's phil brucato, what else could you want



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Martyn F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 05:01:08

I was invited to a Mage game a week ago and jumped at the chance! I remembered the original back in 1993 and how cool the magic system was but, back then, could find no players.

To my dismay, this new edition is double the size of what I remember and benefits not one whit from the self-important, indulgent, patronising, and boring woffle it is stuffed with. Making progress with learning the core mechanics so I can get up to speed in just a few days is like swimming through treacle.

Mage 20 is morbidly obese and, along with sensations of frustration and depair, you'll find your arteries hardening with the sheer length of time you need to sit still to absorb and make sense of it.

I must assume that this book is for long-standing fans only whose past dedication to the game has given them postgrad level knowledge of its immensity.

The notion of trying to recruit new players to the system and then handing them 700 pages of rules comes close to being a laughable refutation of the whole system.

I'm still giving Mage 20 three stars as the magic system, that one thing which made the original Mage so interesting and original, is still there; but it's now relegated to chapter ten with a massive potential barrier of drivel erected in front of it.

There must be many experienced gamers out there -- I am one -- who have not played Mage before but who do not need to be spoon fed over how to role play or sermonized over modern American topics in social justice. We want rules that give us the core systems in compact and clear format; rules that enable us to gain a sufficient understanding to jump into our first game with just a few days notice. Even when such core rules are presented within this volume, they themselves are padded from within with interstitial fat that absorbs a lot of the wonder and joy I remember feeling when reading the original.

I think what we are looking at here is the Entropy Sphere in action. The game itself has become a form of decadent bloatware. Its grossly increased length represents a decline in standards rather than the opposite.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Carl L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2019 11:51:05

First off, this book actually has some good to it. Mechanically it makes it possible to actually play, unlike 3rd Edition, er Revised... What it has, it has well. The rules for the spheres, the way to build a spell, the modifiers for said spells. The compilation of the various factions and sides in the Ascension wars that were stretched across dozens of books, possibly more over the three prior editions. Solid enough stuff.

But ultimately I'm unhappy with it. 700 pages, but they can't give you the Rotes under each Sphere. 700 pages, but they can't actually include even a decent sized fraction of the Merits & Flaws. Instead the book is chockful of plugs for all the other books intended for the Mage 20 line. Thankfully I got this book during a sale, but I honestly still feel more than a touch ripped off to basically have an incomplete book. And deliberately so. I really don't get it. V20 wasn't a constant plug for the other books. W20 wasn't either. It's more than a touch disingenuous and a shameless money grab.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by William V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2019 10:42:23

Book is too big for the cheap binding they use. My group bought 4 books and all for bindings broke. I expected this, so no surprise.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Matthew D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2019 03:14:52

This book has a lot of good and the bad in my opinion. It repeats a lot of the same stuff over and over and over and over again. The Fluff section could easily either be cut in half or incorporate actual new information. It was nice to see the Disparates in the main book, but having all those groups aligned didn't make a lot of sense. The fluff of this book, while containing some really good info overall, has been horribly mismanaged.

The Sphere Rank rules seem sometimes to move some stuff just simply for the sake of moving them. A lot of that fluff could have been replaced with a bigger and better setup of what the Spheres can and cannot do. The How Do You Do That book would have been pretty unnecessary then, since that tome is also very repetitive in material.

All in all, I enjoyed the book, as a I like some of the old fluff. But honestly, unless you really care about the Disparates in your game, just get a previous edition. This book is largely unnecessary.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2017 19:35:37

at almost 700 pages, this is a massive tome, beautifully printed and lovingly illustrated. if you are a fan of the series, this is worth spending a bit extra to get the high quality print. contains core rules, examples of play, details for both traditions and technocracy mages, magic references, and tons and tons of lore and histories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Lucus P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2017 20:10:02

There's too much to say about how excellent this is -- but it can all be culminated in a simple "This is the BEST version of Mage." -- any other discussion is just trying to convince you to be "into" the game -- but if you already know you are, then this is the best version to own. If you don't know if you're into Mage -- the fact that you're thinking about it, shows you should be, and thus you should have the best version, and this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates