DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Curse of the Flying Dutchman
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2021 22:29:59

Good ruleset for reshaping the microchap into space horror. kinda weak horror, and not very spacy, but for the open structure of a GM-less Dungeon generator, it's not half bad. Way too easy to stumble into the BBEG or rooms that will overwhelm, but the trip was fun.

. . . And the duchman? It's still out there. Made my loot off the minions, walked into the BBEG spawn and was "Nope!!!" hopped back on the shuttle and onto another chapbook . . . Space is pretty big. It can have her!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of the Flying Dutchman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Sci-Fi RPG: Quickstart Edition
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2021 05:42:06

This Micro RPG is two pages long. This includes rules for 5 stats, 4 classes, 4 skills, and an equipment list of 10 items. The game system is powered by one six-sided die. I rolled up a technician. I put him through the two page adventure. He managed to fix two doors and kill eight monsters. He was so damaged that he had to teleport out. He went back to HQ and reported that the facility had infected scientists. He recommended that a biosafety team go in and clean the place out. At this point, I used the Game Master Emulator so that I could solo the next adventure. For his second adventure, he was sent to fix a ship floating in space. It had been discovered because of a distress call. As soon as the ship was powered up, he was attacked by a blade drone. My technician was sliced and diced. Game over. Maybe you will have better luck. Give this a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Sci-Fi RPG: Quickstart Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Page WWII: Tank War Ardennes
by Daniel N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2021 12:59:08

A really fun and simple game. I had more fun with this than I had with some solitaire titles which cost me 100$. I hope for more games in the "One Page WW2" series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Page WWII: Tank War Ardennes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death in Dino Valley: Deluxe Core Rulebook
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2021 00:04:02

This is what you'd call a wolf in sheep's clothing. For the $$ of it, you think you're getting "just another Micro-Chap source book". Nope! This book is as big as the monsters it showcases, tipping the scale at a whopping 150 pages. A hundred and fifty pages! That's 3x the normal book's average size! And no page is wasted. You get dinos for any setting, taming dinos for a pet, and crafting. Crafting! Finally! There's so much bang for your buck here, I'd almost say this should be a "heavily recommended" source book (as you gotta have it). Worth every penny, so much bang for your buck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Dino Valley: Deluxe Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG Monster Roster
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2021 15:58:00

You'll be amazed at how handy this simple mechanic is. If you get the tracker dials, I highly recommend getting this as well. Plus, you can't argue free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG Monster Roster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pit of the Imp Queen (Starter Adventure)
by Gene H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2020 18:16:49

The Good I like the story and theme. The different versions of imps is cool. The lava themed rooms is thematic. I also really like the idea the player rolls for the size of the room but the shape is totally up to the player to draw out. Most dungeon crawls have a shape of a room to go with the room roll. Shaping the rooms and the dungeon overall is enjoyable.

The Bad Way too much dice rolling for me. Way to hard to survive also. I used the easier 9 point ability point buy and gave myself a wealthy 9 gold. I bought the magic armor with +6 health and +6 wits. I only lasted 3 rooms before I died. The only real decisions to make is running away from a monster. I tried that and failed 4 times. The beat down was butal. All the monsters felt the same in combat because your ability to hit is determined by your own stats and has nothing to do with the monster you are trying to hit.

The Hack -reduce dice rolls. I would make monster damage a set number instead of a dice roll every time. -take more than one character into the dungeon because one isn't enough -treat the random encounter table as levels of the dungeon instead of a d6 encounter roll. So the first level of the dungeon, only encounter the imps listed under the number 1 so you can build some wealth and treasure -allow going back to town buy some stuff, rest, level

The Suggestion Add more tables. The tables were thematic and interesting. The battles were brutal and demoralizing. What about a table for conversation with the monsters. Or a table for other stuff you find in the dungeon, a chained NPC, a fire elemental that is not happy with the imps and offers to help or reveal a weakness of the imps, etc. More story through tables! I wonder if you could make each monster a table unto itself for combat. That would be interesting. I think you might do better stripping away the dice rolling game and working up more story material and selling this as a system neutral module.

The Buy To me, it is worth buying for the story and tables. But I would be using another system role play it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pit of the Imp Queen (Starter Adventure)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG: Updated Edition
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2020 15:00:04

On the cusp of something good, Micro Chapbook RPG is a rules-lite, stripped-down RPG with an emphasis on action that tends to confuse instead of entertain. The game is played with a simple roll of 2 six-sided dice. Dungeons are assembled on graph paper with rolls for type, size, locks, etc. Author/Creator Noah Patterson has created a very simple form of an RPG that many people will find enjoyable, sadly, I am not one of them.

The rules for the game, while simple, are almost incomplete and a fair amount are scattered around the book. The rules themselves are pretty limited and manageable, but there is a hefty lack of description on how to apply some of them. This leads to how far your entertainment value can travel. You can either work around the frustration, seek answers online, or move on to something that is still simple but easier to follow and use like Four Against Darkness, Monsters! Monsters!, Avalon, or others. If you love homebrewing core rules and little nuances, then this game may rate higher for you. Also, the decision to role low instead of high is an absolute head-scratcher that seems more like an attempt to stand out instead of being a useful mechanic.

The other major concern stems from the difficulty of the game. Set in a "grimdark" setting like Warhammer 40K, or, perhaps more aptly, Tunnels and Trolls, Micro RPG places far too much emphasis on difficulty and less on enjoyment. It took me 6 games before I was able to meet the boss and another 2 games to finally live long enough to kill him. The mechanic system is constantly draining on the player with little option to survive, even far less reason to return. With a limited leveling system, too many constant ways to lose the core life-sustaining elements of Will and Health, Micro RPG is FRUSTRATING. And again, if you enjoy tweaking elements, this may not bother you. The lack of rules to reduce the power of enemies as they wind down, ways to heal properly, additional characters, etc., the game is a constant rut of creating and dying.

Micro RPG is simple and quick, it's just not very enjoyable.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG: Updated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
David! Thanks for the review! I really appreciate the feedback and you taking the time to play multiple sessions of the game! While I'm sad you didn't find the enjoyment in it, I am also well aware that my game isn't for everyone (and fits a very specific niche). I knew this was the case when I created it, and I knew I wasn't trying to make anything new or innovative. I am currently working on a large hardback "Advanced" core book that I hope will contain a clearer explanation of everything as you mentioned so others won't have to constantly be going online to look for answers to questions about the game. Your feedback will help me make that new release better. Thanks again for giving it a try and happy gaming in other systems. (Also, I've no heard of Monster! Monsters or Avalon. Will have to take a peek at those. Thanks for the insight).
Skeleton Cavern: A Micro Chapbook RPG
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2020 02:26:18

This first book for the MicroRPG system is really well done, especially considering that it's basically just two pages.

The game is very lightweight, which was expected as it is 'Micro'RPG.

I liked the idea of Room types, where some gave a penalty depending on what kind of room you were in. While the mapping part wasn't nearly the level of 4AD or D100D, the Room types were a nice addition.

The Doorway chart is a little better than 4AD (which has nothing more than a standard roll to see if a door is locked or not), but much more compact than D100's Door chart.

Monsters: Like 4AD, MicroRPG uses a monster chart with six slots rolled on a d6. But in MicroRPG, there's only one chart, not three. I do like the smaller monster charts that stick close to a common theme. I think using a smaller pool for each dungeon can help give each one a unique feel. Also, similar to 4AD, MicroRPG has a mechanic to regulate when the boss appears. From what I can calculate, the boss would take a bit longer to appear in MicroRPG than in 4AD. In 4AD there's the possibility that the boss could appear in the second room you step into. In MicroRPG, the boss can't appear until each of the other monsters have been spawned at least once. So you'll go through at least five rooms before there's any chance of the boss appearing.

Combat is a bit more simple than 4AD, but then they also add the mechanics for Will, which raises the complexity back up a little. Will is an interesting idea and could be added to 4AD or D100 Dungeon without much problem. You also get two attacks per round. One ranged (if you have a ranged weapon and the room is four or more squares big) and one melee. And you only take damage if you miss your melee attack.

MicroRPG also has the basic idea of an overworld town for going to to buy equipment or paying to level up. This gets expanded on in the Explorers of the Realm expansion which I have only glanced at so far.

It also appears that the adventures aren't level-locked like they are in 4AD. It's actually encouraged to keep getting better and returning to the dungeon until you beat it.

While MicroRPG has Classes, character advancement is more like D100 Dungeon. You increase a stat by one point each time you pay to level up. This means that there is a cap, as the max you can have in any stat is 5. Of course, this is assuming your character survives that long. Which is very unlikely. However, if they do survive, the maximum number of times you can level them up is 13 times. Your character starts with 7 points that get distributed among four stats. With each stat maxed out at 5, then that would be a total of 20 points used, including the initial 7.

One apparent (so far) drawback I can see in the game is that it's relatively easy to min-max. If you play a Human Fighter, you'll get Proficiency in Strength rolls and a +1 bonus to Strength rolls. Then put four points into Strength, and one into each of the others. You can take the hits to Will because all it will do is give you a +1 penalty to hit. You can also skip the ranged attacks, but if you do attack with ranged, you won't suffer an attack back like you would with melee. So it's okay to be a bad shot. And if you get lucky and hit, that's like a bonus.

So with Strength 4 (+1 with Bonus for being Human) and Proficiency (from being a Fighter)... You'd roll 2d6, picking the lowest one, with 1-5 being a hit. If your Will is 0 from failing the Bravery checks, you'd still hit on 1-4. This also means you'll be getting hit less, since if you hit the monsters they don't hit you.

And as all characters have the same soft cap level at 5 for all stats, every character that survives could potentially reach Str 5, Dex 5, Wit 5, Cha 5. So why not start as a Human Fighter to ensure a greater chance of making it through the early adventures?

Unfortunately, this min-max exploit gets the game knocked down to 4-stars. This may be fixed in the system later, but I haven't gotten that far into the books, yet. And I'm sure the introduction of spells would make playing a Wizard more enticing, which would remove the Str Proficiency dependence.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skeleton Cavern: A Micro Chapbook RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the detailed and awesome review! I appreciate the thoughts and feedback! I've gotten comments about the powerful nature of Fighters and the lack of power in wizards and bards. So, the newly updated core rulebook offers new bonuses to help balance a little. Wizards have a spell chart in the new rules they can learn from. Bards also have a spell chart, albeit smaller. However, Bards also can purchase a magical instrument which makes them proficient in a second stat. Anyway! Glad you enjoyed this earliest version of the game!
Dead Cabin
by Clay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2020 14:17:17

I really like roll n writes, so of course i would give this a play through. Not to complex. i think i got this one when it was a pay product. it was worth the purchase for an afternoon disraction in my motel room. Not sure i would play it again but only because Micro RPG has some better roll n writes but i did enjoy



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Cabin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG: The Card Game
by Stephen T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2020 21:28:35

TO SUM IT UP: If you want to romp through a dungeon using a system that distills all the disparate elements of dungeon crawls into a card-flipping, dice-throwing jam done in about 20 minutes, you've found your game.

WHAT I LIKED THE MOST: Character upgrade systems. No worries about modifications to armour class, for example... Just increase a character's hits-to-kill.

WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE OF: Variable paths to success. I felt like the same characters would be needed to succeed and make it to the end of the game while others really had no chance (I'm looking at you, Bard!). The Wizard seems over-powered, specifically when armed with the staff.

I purchased and played the physical copy of the Card Game, with the PDF instructions printed out and referenced during my first play-through. After a few look-ups in subsequent plays, I could play from start to finish (with games of variable lengths) without needing to refer to the rulesheets.

I've been slowly chipping away at my growing collection of freebies and affordable small-scale, flexible games from the one-person game studio known as Micro RPG, and it's been consistently entertaining. The creator seems very generous with their free/low-cost/pay-what-you-can, fun games, so you should jump on their mailing list and find a way to send them some money for their efforts. This physical card game is an excellent opportunity to do so...!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG: The Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Stephen, Thanks for the review! I always love to hear what people are playing and what they think of it! Glad you enjoyed the game and thanks for the tips and pointers! Noah
Space Pirates: A Scifi Micro Chapbook RPG
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2020 17:31:48

My 9 year old and I played a cooperative version of this and quite enjoyed it.

Traditionally, when it comes to slavery, the pirates were the good guys. Pirates did a lot of "stealing property" that was actually freeing slaves.

The normal way to play involves fighting pirates. However, with the rules-lite nature of the Micro RPG, it was easy to invert that part of the narrative.

We were pirates coming to liberate treasure and slaves from a cop-infested ship intent to "return stolen property."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Pirates: A Scifi Micro Chapbook RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG: The Card Game
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 05:23:29

I've played through this fantastic little game about six times now - albeit some sessions lasted longer than others because it is DEADLY! It offers exactly what I hoped it would - an easy to manage, admin light, solo role playing experience. I'm a big fan of the 'Micro Chapbook' line as it scratches an itch I have for ttrpgs which require little set up time and can be easily transported for gaming 'on the road'. The card game version captures the essence of the core rules very well but makes the whole experience even more streamlined. I absolutely love the b/w artwork which adds to the game's OSR feel. I purchased the pnp version so do be prepared for some production time as you'll need to cut out and fold the cards. Once all that is done it's very easy to get up and running with a game as the rule book is coherant and easy to follow.

One word of warning: be prepared to die and die often! This game will suit you, if like me, you're a 'time poor' gamer. I have been setting this up and leaving it out on the desk in my gaming space then grabbing five minutes here and there to run a hero through a dungeon. They haven't lasted long yet, but that's ok - it's so quick to set up and play again.

Finally, I've only played this solo so far but look forward to getting it on the table for a coop game soon. I think this would be an excellent way to introduce kids (maybe 7 plus) to roleplaying since it's a very snappy experience with little down time. This game deserves a wider audience so I hope the now availiable 'pre-printed' version will attract people to giving it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG: The Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

There is Something in the House!
by Stephen T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2020 07:32:00

This is a quick dice-chucker game with a ghost-house theme. Lead-up action to the confrontation is slow-paced, but once you make it to the attic and face off with the ghost the terror escalates quickly and it becomes a race against the odds with your dwindling dice pool.

Those of you who dislike the influence of luck in your games will not like this much at all - particularly the end game, where all the action is. But if you have a handful of dice and about 15-20 minutes to spare, this game is a fun diversion for several play-throughs.

The random tables that help construct the origin story of the ghostly haunting are a nice touch. I like seeing games that both embrace a theme, and have fun with it at the same time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
There is Something in the House!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome review. Thanks for the kind words.
Field of Dire Souls: A Micro Chapbook RPG Scenario
by Nicholas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2020 11:24:32

This is a great freebie (as usual!). I gotta ask, is it possible to get a character sheet as it's own pdf download in the future? Love your work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Field of Dire Souls: A Micro Chapbook RPG Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Chapbook Scifi RPG: Deluxe Core Rulebook
by Raymond T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 18:31:54

If you’re new to this game, do yourself a favor and spend the couple of bucks to purchase one of these core rulebooks.

I downloaded a couple of the medieval themed freebies and I read the short version of the rules that comes with them. I sat down and played three games, and I did a couple of things wrong, such as not understanding what ‘proficient’ meant, forgetting little things like room effects, etc. For those first three games, I lost, and I lost badly. Yes, I can be dense at times, but the rules were irritatingly vague and I ended up nerfing myself because I interpreted them wrong.

I could see that the game had its merits. For my next attempt, I changed themes to sci-fi, and then I thought, I should just get the associated rulebook because it might clarify a few things that I was having trouble with. The rules were fleshed out just enough for me to get a grasp on what I’d done wrong before, while still leaving room for personal adjustments. Also, I hit Old Reliable Youtube and I looked up the term Micro Chapbook RPG. I found three examples of game-play, including a good series by Rigaroga. I played three more games in the Bug Ship scenario, and while I did not win, I was closer than before and I liked the competitiveness in the game dynamics. Finally, on game seven, I beat the dreaded Bug Queen! I am looking forward to playing another scenario.

I was wondering if there was overlap between the three free scenarios and the six scenarios in the rulebook. There is overlap. The three freebies are Bug Ship, Space Pirates and System Breach. These scenarios have been renamed and their details randomized in the rulebook. From what I can see, the three additional scenarios are Oversized Asteroid, Mining Rig and Interdimensional Rift. I want to play the two other freebies before I move on to the randomized versions found in the rulebook. There is a lot of filler in the rulebook, with large images and short bursts of letters, but there is another reason why purchasing it makes sense. It’s inexpensive! Okay, besides that, the weapons, armor and items are all included in organized charts. This allowed me to see everything that was available all at once, instead of having to go through each free scenario picking and choosing what worked best for my Dex-based character.

This game is repetitive, but the variety and randomization give it re-playability for me. You’ve got six levels of everything: door obstructions, room effects, aliens, etc., that will help to keep the monotony away. This is exactly the sort of game I was looking for: one that wasn’t too complex, that had a good amount of action, and that included decent progress and rewards for all the dungeon crawling involved. I thought this was a short game at first, but now I can see how a player can increase the playing time by adding more and more rooms, or facing enemies multiple times. I give this game 5 out of 5 stars.

(That’s it for the review. If you’d like to read my playing strategy, read on.)

The series of videos by Rigaroga were great, partly due to his morbid sense of humor. What he did was create a character, a halfling that died quickly, and then he created an ogre that went into the same scenario and retrieved the halfling’s body. The ogre took the body to the clerics and had it revived, for free since he had no gold, and then Rigaroga had a melee ogre and a ranged halfling as his sidekick. I thought that was great! This game can be modified so that the solo player can manage multiple characters, as long as the bad guys are balanced out.

All right, back to my strategy. I only did this in my first sci-fi game. When my Dex character got into a brawl, he stayed there until he either won or got crunched up. If he survived, he was left pretty low on Life. I let him backtrack to the Entrance where he was magically revitalized back to full stats, like it would happen back in Diablo II when the character went back to town. When he returned into the Bug Ship, he checked to see if any new monsters spawned in already cleared areas, before he ventured into new rooms. I only did this in my first game. My character died, but he did collect enough credits to purchase ranged and melee weapons with consistent 2 Damage, because the 1D3 Damage was killing me before.

After that, my next objective was to purchase the big Med Kit that would return me to full Health. Any credits over that went to upgrading my weapons first, and my gear second. As long as I had a Med Kit ready, I was golden, pony-boy. By then, I could take on every bad guy in a game twice. When I faced the Bug Queen, I had two Med Kits on hand. I ended up using only 1 of them, but it was touch and go until that final smackdown gave me the victory. It remains to be seen whether or not my character will be overpowered in the next scenario, but if he is, I can always make the bad guys tougher to compensate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook Scifi RPG: Deluxe Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates