DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
by Hugo Z. I. Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 10:14:58

This was a long time coming. MME3 is the third volume in a series of absolutely terrific resources and marks the first with completely new, commissioned art that's made specially for the book. and wow, the art is GORGEOUS. this is just some of the best D&D art out there right now, with some fiercely creative takes on creatures that should be familiar to DMs and players who've been playing for a while.

The unique abilities and rules for creatures as well as their interesting descriptions will help DMs craft some truly fun and challenging encounters for their players. This is also a terrific ace in the hole for DMs with experienced players who already know what to expect, that much needed curveball for those players who can't help but meta because of their experience. This is next level stuff.

That being said, this is a terrific resource even for new DMs and their groups because it's just a topnotch book that's on par with other official Wizards releases. you can spend hours and hours just poring over the beautiful art and even more hours just finding excuses to insert this or that monster into your adventures. highly recommended. can't wait to pick up the printed version later this year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-WWC-10 Brental's Roads Scholars
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 07:35:28

I ran this last night on Fantasy Grounds, and me and my players had a blast. This mod has a lot of variety, including skill checks, combats, and role play. I was able to keep it within the 2 hour time frame easily, and the rewards are quite good. The FG module is well done, and makes this a very easy adventure to grab and run if you use Fantasy Grounds. Overall, I'd say this is a solid buy



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-10 Brental's Roads Scholars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Captain Snowmane's Guided Cruise Through the Domains of Dread
by Alison W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 01:01:21

Recently received this title as part of my reward from a contest and was super stoked, since I'd been wanting it anyway! The domains cover a wide variety of concepts, and there's something to inspire everyone. Lots of detail and ideas for different adventures in each realm, I'm definitely going to be subjecting my players to some good ol' Toxic Positivity in a future game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Captain Snowmane's Guided Cruise Through the Domains of Dread
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exploring Eberron
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 22:48:49

If you're running an Eberron campaign, this is required reading. Keith Baker (The author) created the Eberron setting, but due to WotC technically owning the Eberron IP, everything has to go through their approval process. Thus, with every edition of D&D, the core Eberron book must spend the majority of it's pages re-explaining the basic setting, with little space to go in depth. So what we have here is an extremely talented writer with decades of pent up lore, finally allowed to put unrestricted pen to paper.

15 pages on the dwarves. Eberron: Rising from the Last War had 2.

62 pages on the 13 planes of existence. RftLW had 5.

Did you know there is an entire civilization beneath The thunder sea? Because I sure didn't. Here, have 16 pages on an entire underwater city that RftLW didn't mention (To my recollection).

You want new character archetypes? Check.

You want new racial feats? Check.

You want new character races? Check.

New magic items? New Monster stat blocks? Artillery used in the last war? Check. Check. Check.

How about everything above but it's also balanced as well as any official material, plus written by the actual dude that created the setting? Giant checkmark with a smileyface next to it.

This is the DMsGuild at its very best. Support the authors, get the hardcover version if you can possibly afford it, it's gorgeous, plus the PDF for that sweet CTRL-F power. As far as I'm concerned, this is core material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exploring Eberron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 22:07:45

The lich has spoken! Watch the spotlight: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OFHhAxE0v8 I'll reveal my hand now. This product is amazing and I'll tell you why!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
by William J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 21:11:40

The array of new variations for old tribes will be very useful (More Kobolds!), and many of the oldies but goodies were glad to revisit, but the most important part of this book is the ART! Some of it was unsettling, some of it was subtle, and some was terrifying, but it was all Excellent! Glad I bought it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GSP01-01 A Dragon's Breath
by Alejandro R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 19:33:55

A Dragon's Breath is one of the most heart warming tales of all time. Personally one of my favorite Tier 1 Adventures that sets the tenor for an adventurer's journey. There is a lot of heavy RP, and a ton of feels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GSP01-01 A Dragon's Breath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

First Blush
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 18:19:03

An easy-to-follow 2-3 hour long introductory adventure, which is suitable as a tutorial session for new players and walks them through the basics of conversation roleplaying, skill checks, and combat. In my session, I made a few adjustments (e.g. exchanged the paladin sidekick/DMPC with a woman monk to better complement PC's character, who was also a paladin).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Path of Dragonfire - Barbarian Primal Path
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 16:44:21

As with his previous supplement, the author does a great job of building from a power fantasy that is easy to grasp - and in this case one that I know to be very popular amongst RPG players. Through this book, a DM has the ability to offer their players the option to truly wield the power of Dragon's Breath in combat. The mechanics have been very carefully written to mesh well with existing Barbarian rulesets, and the author has taken care to balance the path's power level in line with official supplements.

Where the path really shines, however, is in the custom Breath Effects list - which includes a wide array of versatile mechanics for those looking to do more than just burn their enemies. Many of these effects have been tailored to make reference to powerful legendary dragons that many players will be familiar with - offering a player character the chance to really feel as though they are channelling the fury of these godlike ancients. For such a low price, this would be a great way to spice up your next campaign as a player - or something to offer your next party as a DM - without sinking time and money into larger resource books. I definitely recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Path of Dragonfire - Barbarian Primal Path
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Face of Dominion
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 16:41:47

Well and proffesionaly made, with clear effort oozing out of every page.

Honestly one of the best I've had the pleasure of reading and doing.

9.5/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Face of Dominion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Face of Dominion
by Theo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 14:54:47

Good plot and easy to follow, from both a player and a DM's perspective.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One-Stop Shops: 25 Shops, Shopkeepers, Side Quests, and Magic Items
by Ben G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 14:23:39

What an absolute bargain! Great bit of work glad I picked it up :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One-Stop Shops: 25 Shops, Shopkeepers, Side Quests, and Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in Ravenloft
by Rory C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 13:16:58

This book has a lot of what you need to run some one shots or add to your ravenloft campaign.

Adventures vary from level 1-12 and a few that you can scale depending on what level your party is. Many of the major realms are hit including a very scaled fun one that you can incorperate into CoS.

Maps are amazing to go with the adventures, the variety of writers used is also good as you get different styles of writing.

All the extra monsters have their strat blocks per adventure, many of the magic items are pretty cool

Oh and SHARKNADO

nuff said

Im Editing this review and the rating for one major reason the Errors

There are a load of them i have them all listed i have contacted one of the authors (Grimm Press) who released this and also on Fantasy Grounds but had everything fixed yet this has been left to die with errors in a lot of the stat blkocks and no update resolving the issue. I have been patient i have also contacted them via a couple of means i have posted in the discussions and had no response. If it gets fixed i will gladly replace my original rating as in all honesty its pretty good and i like it i am just bummed that no update or even response has been forthcoming.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Ravenloft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barovian Born and Raised
by Rory C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 09:00:36

WOW....just Wow.... thats all i can say about this.

I have had players ask about coming from the realms and how could we put that into the game. Well this does it for you, you can use Barovia as a start but always transplant and change to come from another realm.

Not only does this give you the chance to have grown up in barovia but also gives you an idea of how your class and subclass can be incorperated into your character. Not all the sub classes are mentioned but about 95% from the Main, PHB/Xan/Tahsa/VRG are in here giving a very dark ravenloft spin to them.

Do you want to delve furtherinto your background their are tables that you can pick from or randomly roll to give your background more susbtance which can never hurt.

What races may you come across in barovia and hooks to help your character build relashionships with some of the main players and/or places.

There is so much in here that really can help you flesh out and expand on any ravenloft or CoS adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barovian Born and Raised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
by Liz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 08:14:43

Wow!

What other word is there to say? Monster Manual Expanded III is the worthy successor to round out the Dungeon Masters Guild's bestselling trilogy to date. There is much to examine here, as this tome is similar yet dissimilar to the previous two installments. I will be dividing my review into four sections, with the final rating being the average score. Note that some of my opinions will be based off the previous two installments, but all in all the three books/pdfs themselves are similar enough in execution to warrant likewise scores.

Art Score : 5/5

Mark my words, I doubt that you will find better looking art anywhere else on the Dungeon Masters Guild. Should I say it? The art contained within rivals even that of WotC in quality! Author Andrew "Dragonix" Mannix has set the bar near the ceiling with the masterful composition of his newly comissioned art. The previous installments of MM often contained exceptional works on their own, but were usually limited to unique and rare threats that deserved the extra touch. But now, nearly every monster in the book has its own accompanying piece, with not even the standard orc variant lacking a fine sketch. Such a feat is incredibly rare, and deserves an immediate star from me. And also a word of applause for the exceptional artists!

Editing Score : 4.8/5

In addition to this, the editing has vastly improved over PDFs I and II. I have not noticed a single spelling error yet, although the previous files originally contained quite a few. Kudos to the editors, because they often go unsung for their critical work!

Content Score : 4.5/5

This installment continues the streak of MMI and II by providing a wide array of templates as well as updated creature types from bygone editions of D&D. Humanoid creatures and NPCs take up the majority of the stat blocks, with dragons in a close second. My personal favorite inclusions were both the Nagas and Guardinals, because both groups of monsters managed to scratch an itch in my already gigantic bestiary that I never knew I had. The three-headed dragon and two-headed dragon templates will undoubtedly be integral to my current campaign, which is a real treat considering that my characters aren't too intimidated by standard reptilian damage sponges anymore. A two-headed menace will certainly make my rogue angry for his decision to optimize his build specifically for beheading every boss that I throw at him. One group that also should not go unmentioned is the inclusion of new plants. Unsurprisingly, the original Monster Manual by WotC had the awakened shrub, the awakened tree, a few blights, the treant...aand that was about it for plants. Even in Volo's Guide to Monsters and Mordenkainen's we got only three plants. Three! Thankfully, this book contains a full batch of ten interesting plants. Great! Now my land druid's capstone feature will feel just a little less neglected. But genuienly, the plants are a welcome addition to round out the trilogy, adding almost double the amount that the core sourcebooks added.

But the reason I subtracted half a star from the final rating is a bit more of a personal decision rather than of a critical examination: Not every monster was given new options! I would have loved a new type of lich or mind flayer. But unfortunately, they were not present in the PDF. If you ignore this personal bit though, the content remains as good as ever, and would warrant a full 5 stars.

Price Score : 3.8/5

I'd hate to admit it, but I did actually pause for a moment when I glanced at the $35 price tag. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not much of a penny pincher, but I was briefly concerned that the price of the PDF was comparable to WotC hardbacks, which I have since ignored for their hefty price tags supplanted by paper-thin streams of fluff. However, unlike those hardbacks, MMEIII provides the exceptional stream of content which I rambled on about above. On the other hand, installments I and II can be purchased individually for 55% of the cost of the third installment. But I understand, owning such a higher-quality book than the first two expanded manuals does indeed permit a higher price. With this in mind, I'll let my wallet suffer just a little to scare my players into finally giving up their standard power plays.

Overall Score : 5 Stars

Although the average of the above scores would typically add to roughly 4.5 stars, I feel nostalgic enough to give in the full score. In summary, the MMEIII is the odd one out of the previous two MMEs, with its own strengths and weaknesses. But when the trilogy is viewed as a whole, I can definitely say that this is the essential DMsGuild product, one that would be impossible to pass up! If you come to the DMsGuild looking for anything but monsters, I will assure that your shopping cart will have the complete collection sooner or later. Congratulations to all who worked on the project, because you've made something special!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual Expanded III (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your very detailed review, Liz. The artists and editors greatly appreciate it! :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22010 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates