DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Five Torches Deep: Homesteads
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2021 22:08:28

I enjoyed Homesteads. The use of the coloured cubes to generate a region and town was innovative. FTD: Homesteads is a nice choice to create a starting town and region and let the characters run amok. Personally, I generated nine regions using the coloured cubes to get an overall idea of what the region was like and used that to inform how the town functioned.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Homesteads
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep: Origins
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2021 21:59:32

HUGE nope for FTD Origins. The Origins detract so far from FTD that it seems this was some weird appeal to the community. Then you get to the final blurb which totally distracts from the OSR. Colonialism? Seriously? Where do you think monsters get their treasure? Heroes aren't gallavanting through the cosmos and spreading colonialism. Heroes are retaking territories claimed by EVIL ENTITIES. It's cyclical mythology. What... should goblins just keep whatever treasure THEY STOLE because of colonialism? This book is terrible. Heritages? Bad. Lineages? Bad. Just... bad.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Origins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2021 21:54:51

FTD is alright. It's far from rules complete, and that is always my go to with an RPG. I understand the design standpoint, but, let's be real, if you need FTD then X then Y then the other to complete a setting? Why? Why should I need another resource to generate a treasure hoard when there is a rule segment for a treasure hoard? It feels incomplete (which is not always a bad thing) and ... just ... I always feel like I'm looking for something outside of FTD. So, FTD is ok, but it is not at all feature complete.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 03:22:19

A great system for a great set up. Dungeon delving has never been so much fun and quick! Just note it isn't an adventure module per say(Basically a modified rule system for 5E). I built a campaign around this idea though and it almost feels like a throwback to heroquest or warhammer quest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Origins
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2021 06:48:13

Not as good as the core rulebook. While the rulebook for Five Torches Deep is well thought through and a delight this comes over as a bit hasty and not properly considered. There are sections which definitely come over as very preachy.

Thereare some good ideas here (the life paths section on p6)- but there are also some questionable ones (lineages).

It's cheap, so not much lost, but doesn't jump the high bar that the original rules set.

[Had a dialog with the game designers - this time I think it was me missing the point of where they were going with the rules - so revised the review upwards]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Origins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! We are always looking to improve our products. Can you share a bit more of your thoughts on why Lineages are not as well thought out? It is the piece we are most proud of and believe it to be a very evocative way of creating essentially endless backgrounds. But we have heard from some folks that it is too many things to track or puts too much emphasis on bloodline rather than PC class. Was that something you felt stood out, or something else?
Five Torches Deep
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2021 16:30:01

Absolutely fantastic. If you want to play with a feel of OSR but the mechanics of 5e this is your best option in my opinion. The character class advancements, etc are spot-on and feel like B/X. The mechanics themselves are straight elegant applied 5e. If you want modern mechanics with and old-school feel I think this is a great place to start. Also regarding layout and usability, it's absolutely 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep
by Godefroy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 13:05:44

Hi, I just received my copy and read it. I can't wait to play it ! It seems to be a simple, uncluttered and efficient system that offers a old school feeling. Awesome work !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
by Ben A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2021 05:12:00

This is a very interesting system and I do not regret my puchase at all. But as a system itself it feels very incomplete. I would say if you plan to run this game you also need the core books for Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition. It explains many of it's new rules well and they are fantastic editions. In particular it's Supply and Magical Mishap rules can only be described with a chef's kiss. But most of it's rules are so rules lite as to be non existant on it's own. In many ways it's like Original D&D. Where OD&D was a bunch of guidelines based off the game Chainmail, this is a bunch of guidlines based off 5e. But I feel as if this system needs an Advanced edition or the Basic/Expert treatment. If you have the D&D 5e books you should definately get this! If you don't already have those books you may consider giving this a pass.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
by michael w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2021 12:31:30

Really interesting take on the OSR. it's clean and clear and has a cool idea as to how to deal with basically every single element of a dungeoncrawl game. I'm not sure it's as innately insipering as I usually like my games, but regardless it's a good read and I might pick it when next I run an OSR style game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
by Cassie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2021 12:50:53

Good start to rulet set but in play seems unfinished. We ended up with many questions and needing to house rule on a regular basis. There is a whole section about hirelings but it lacked any stat blocks. Additional example stat blocks would have been helpful. Needing to continually reference 5e rules then adjusting them got a bit tedious in play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Cassie! Part of OSR play is all about "rulings over rules," so the terseness is intentional rather than accidental omission. Retainer stats are given along with all NPCs in the Monster Math section; simply plug in the HD of the retainer you have/want, select their specialty (such as laborer or combatant) and you have all of their relevant stats. I'd be curious to know what other 5e rules were needed to refer to in play, as we always want to try to improve our products. Thanks for the feedback!
Five Torches Deep
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2021 18:40:39

This is really very good indeed.

Enough material here to get up and running with a low level (1-9) campaign in jut 48 pages. If you are happy with a mostly humanoid characters and monsters being very rare one off creations then this really is all you need.

If you like having fights against monsters by the barrel load then you wll need to get hold of a the Monster Manual or similar to give you pre-generated creations.

The book is beautiful, the layout logical and overall this is a job well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
by Caroline D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2021 08:09:12

Picked this up maybe 2-3 months ago. My original plan was to use this a jumping off point from 5e to OSE, but ended up just sticking with FTD. I really enjoy the system. If you want a more deadly game with greater emphasis on dungeon combat and exploration, and you're switcing from 5e D&D, this is your game. It's very modular, and the monster creation system is worth it all on it's own. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Origins
by Andres E. V. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2021 23:39:32

Great material. Really fun and varied ways of customizing characters, this supplements succeeds in doing what it sets to do, giving plenty of options for cool species to play with, yet being flexible enough so you don't get two exact same PCs basically EVER. Aside from "lower stats don't mean anything", this book's character creator mechanics are awesome.

It is basically "Ancestry and Culture", but in FTD's fashion it goes straight to the point, and the tools it gives are super flexible.

Seeing the paragon concept also makes me very happy, as the option for the "race as class" while being a trope it is still a cool concept. I think having many different ways to play a character is always better.

On the art front, I enjoy it but it is far too removed from the desperate, raw and gritty style of the core book. The core book has more atmospheric art, and origins seems not only whimsical in comparison but also far too basic and flat(technique wise).

I understand that the core book is twice the price, and I do enjoy me some whimsy, but comparing the core heritages art on each book there is no denying this is quite the step down quiality wise. Also a missed opportunity not having a spread of the heritages ¿maybe when we get a hardcover compilation? (if so, I think the original art style and technique are far superior).

As for the controversy regarding the last page statement, I get it. No, I don't think the author's worldview should be excluded from thir work, far from it. I also think that the best statement are the first 15 pages of the book. That statement reads as if the authors regret making FTD in the first place, instead of celebrating what origins brings to the table in both flexibility, variety and a more inclusive worldview.

Species ARE diferent, so on average some being stronger, taller, slender, quicker gives a clear startingpoint to think "how does a culture where a child can walk and lift 100 pounds by age 8 looks like?" If every species "is the same unless it is adventuring" then heritages become a paint job, which to me reduces the versatility, and is far harder to establish a world where that is possible.

However I agree that adventurers are extraordinary, regardless of species, that's why an Orc can be a Wizard, probably the strongest wizard in the class on average (not that hard).

I digress. Mechanics are on point, the statement's focus (negativity for the past instead of the many doors opened by this material and world view) and the "stats are only valid while adventuring" not so much.

Worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Origins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep: Homesteads
by Cassie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2021 21:47:25

It's a bit underwhelming. There is a distinct lack of mechanical rules, charts, or detailed examples for land's characteristcs. Crop examples are a couple of italic notes at the end of sections and there is not a rule based way to determine quality. However quality provide mechanical benefits so its something players will want to work towards. The town structures have a tier system which would have been a wonderful framework for the homestead itself. In its current state the GM is going to need to homebrew or handwave to make this useful for gameplay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Homesteads
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep: Duels
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2020 11:41:24

This book is oustanding.

I've spent a lot of time reading RPG books in search of a crunchy combat system that's just right. The system I imagined had an elegant balance between verisimilitude and complexity in a way that keeps it really playable by a wide audience but also still makes combat feel like a real sword fight by not abstracting out many details with concepts like AC. This system is that system!

We all must balance our life obligations with our RPG time right? So, it can be tough to justify learning really crunchy systems like Riddle of Steel, Blade of the Iron Throne, or Sword and Scoundrel. That's not to take away much from those games; I view them as an achievements on their own, but they're not right for everyone, and I especially think it's hard to argue against the assertion that they're not right for all groups.

Also, while still being interesting in their own right, some systems simply create different combat abstractions that still don't feel quite right like 7th Sea, Legend of the Five Rings, and the Apocalypse World Engine games. Instead of creating lots of new abstractions, FTD: Duels fits over top of standard D&D or OSR d20 rules and fixes many of the annoying abstractions by adding an option for an attack then defend and repeat melee system. By implementing the duel system in this way, it minimizes complexity because it uses a system many of us are familiar with as a base.

I won't go into much further detail about why Five Torches Deep: Duels strikes the verisimilitude vs. complexity balance perfectly, but I feel confident that I can tell you that it definitely does after having read all those other books.

P.S. The art is gorgeous and the book is laid out in a format that's very easy to read and reference.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep: Duels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 74 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates