DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 14:27:50

This module is perfect to squeeze in the middle of Heart of Glass (Ubersreik Adventures I). Be sure to play the "archaeological" part of the module out and it should all go well. Sadly the Basilisk Forge World miniature that would fit this module perfectly is out of production.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Old World Adventures - Night of Blood
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 14:23:13

This module is great if you're looking to introduce the party to the continuous menace of chaos corruption within the Empire, and also if you're in need of something happening during the group's travels. There is a thin line between the characters ignoring all the signals of something wrong happening, and them being overly scared of the threat and bailing, so tread carefully if you want to squeeze all the juice this module has to offer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Old World Adventures - Night of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by René S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2020 09:18:50

I have been pining for the 4th Edition. But after one and a half years of regular playing I am unfortunately disillusioned. On the one hand, I'm still angry that C7 released the ruleset the way it is now: with a bunch of mistakes that wouldn't have been necessary if you had just taken more time. They waited so long, I could have waited even longer for a good product. On the other hand, the combat system is just really bad (all five players in my round think so, too). While reading through it I thought: "Wow, how innovative! And I still think it's good that you always roll the dice for defense in a fight. This is really a significant improvement. But Advantages? And the conditions? I don't want to have to do any accounting to depict a fight. Without COVID and therefore Roll20 I would probably have given up already... But it's not that easy, because there are powers and talents based on the fact that you use them. I think I'll finish my campaign and then it's over with the 4th Edition.

On the positive side, I would like to praise the careers and how they work now. I like that very much. The rest is also good to very good in my opinion. But when fights are no longer fun, then something goes wrong.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: The Frozen Reaches
by Clayton B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2020 11:40:32

This was the first Rogue Trader adventure I ran, and it was far and away the best and most interesting set of challenges for a true Rogue Trader to face. Diplomacy, backstabbing, political maneuvering, combat, war, and a great planet to act as a future 'home' for the characters in the midst of the Reach.

Note: The other two adventures in this trilogy are... not great. Adventure #2 takes away some of the grand scheming of the Rogue Trader universe; and Adventure #3 is just bad from the goals, to the characters, to the expected checkboxes that the players would have completed before hand, to the mediocre rewards. Stick with Frozen Reaches and then improvise from there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Frozen Reaches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by Ben W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2020 16:46:19

The actual book and contents are great but the latest PDF has issues, specifically the bookmarks don't work. Considering the pdf is 401 pages long it would be really difficult to actually play without first editing the pdf to get some working bookmarks going.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by Lane T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 06:50:43

Wrath & Glory had a rough start with its previous publisher, but I've been playing since its earliest released edition. It is at its heart, a system that accomplishes what it sets out to accomplish and has ample room for growth.

To wit: W&G is not meant to be a 1:1 replacement for its predecessor system, Dark Heresy (and its derivatives like Rogue Trader, Only War, Deathwatch). Dark Heresy was by design, intended to be an extraordinarily deep system, with little breadth. It is deep, but narrow. It is focused almost entirely on Imperium-based play, with incredibly rich descriptions of equipment and minor settings, and superlatively detailed rules for every occasion. That was both its greatest quality, and worst trait in my opinion. Every time I picked up a Dark-Heresy style sourcebook, I felt the utmost overwhelming desire to dive into the universe - to play and run its games. To absorb every rule and every nuance of the gameplay. Every time I tried to play Dark Heresy (and on other occasions, Rogue Trader), the campaigns felt flat. There was almost never a GM capable of meeting the standard of richness set by the book. Every session was bogged down by half an hour of searching for rules (and there is no reasonable way to summarise Dark Heresy's rules). I had never seen a universe so rich, and a ruleset so wretchedly bloated.

Wrath & Glory is the opposite by design, and in my play experience. W&G is by design, very shallow and very wide. Some would understandably make the same criticism for as Skyrim: a game with an ocean's width, and the depth of a puddle. This ignores that games like Skyrim are iconic in their field, and actually incredibly fun. W&G's in-house settings have never appealed to me. I have never once looked in its wargear lists and been enamoured with an item of gear or a relic. Yet the rules slipped on like a glove, from its more flawed first edition until now. In playing W&G, my groups have always been able to commit the main rules to memory, and make a reasonably sized quick-reference file for the other content. Having to trawl the rulebook for an obscure rule is fairly uncommon with this system. When I picked up Wrath & Glory and read it for the first time, I felt none of the burning desire to immerse myself the way Rogue Trader made me want to. Nothing even close. But unlike any of those previous systems, my group of newcomers and 40K lore buffs all got together and finished a long campaign. And we actually played the game successfully. That is the system's greatest success, and one I build my rating on. I can play Wrath & Glory, and it's not a chore. I can play it, and it's enjoyable. I can flesh it out with mountains of homebrew and not fear for conflict and bloat.

The comparisons between W&G and the entire Dark Heresy library are frankly unfair. Comparing a first-release core rulebook to a nearly decade-long franchise spanning dozens of works that had a completely different design philosophy is patently absurd. W&G, like Dark Heresy, needs to be evaluated on its own merits as much as its own drawbacks. The result is that I see W&G for what it was meant to be: a contemporary introduction to 40K roleplay suitable for new and old people. One that is not gated behind the elitism, expense and complexity of Dark Heresy, but one that consequently lacks fleshing-out.

The core mechanic for W&G is simple, adaptable and has built-in nuance for catastrophic and exceptional results. It is a generally stable and useful core mechanic using pooled D6 and I find it excellent. It does suffer from scaling issues when tests or skills become too high, and it is very difficulty to accurately estimate percentage changes for your success, unlike D20 or D100 systems.

Lore wise? My group are consummate homebrewers. We did not play with the pre-packaged lore for this one just like all the Dark Heresy and Rogue Trader source materials. I read those works for entertainment and inspiration, not to build a campaign over. From what I read of this book's lore, it is basic and covers the essentials, but it suffers from the shortcoming of having to place too many species into too-small a setting, and suffers from a lack of depth.

The lack of content with regards to wargear, narrative impact and playable characters is the book's greatest limitation. The book is packaged for four distinct factions (Orks, Eldar, Imperial, Chaos) right out of the box. But you can only play a very limited and small version of all of those factions except for the Imperium (unsurprisingly). Even the Imperial selection of wargear is pedestrian and basic by Warhammer 40 000's standards, with none of the eye-popping innovation and complexity previous systems featured. The gear and character archetypes require future content support, or heavy GM homebrew to reach their potential. Yet like every other part of the system, the framework for designing your own equipment and archetypes are simple and straightforward.

Cubicle7's changes in formatting, talents, ascension packages and... spelling are generally positive. I have no areas to report where the earliest edition was clearly superior to this edition and I write this on the release of its 2.1 Errata, adding new corrections and adjustments. I do note the removal of vehicle combat and voidship combat rules from the previous edition. I respect Ulisses' attempt for bringing iconic voidship combat into this system, but the attempt to bring such a complex and rich set of rules to a streamlined system was unsuccessful. The original implementation of vehicle and voidship combat were some of my greatest criticisms and Cubicle7 has seemingly removed them outright. Sadly, I think the removal of this content improved the average quality of the work, but it is notable.

And so:

Good

++Superbly simple and adaptable ruleset

++Highly playable

+Much better organised than previous edition, may Ulisses North America do well for the work they put in

+An excellent base for future content additions

Bad --Very shallow on its own story, gear and lore, requiring copious future content updates or copious homebrew

-Depth of rules was sacrificed in favour of flexibility and playability

-Removal of the vehicle combat rules, even if they were hideously flawed

A 4/5 in my eyes, if you want to play a 40K RPG. A 5/5 if you have a GM willing to do the copious homebrew needed to flesh it out. And a 5/5 one day, if it receives the content support it deserves.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Phillip B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2020 01:42:37

Rich and beautiful, every page drips with the chaotic fun of the Old World. More story hooks than you can shake a fish at. Perfect step for those considering stepping into the world for the first time, and like returning home for those that know their Ulthuan from their Athel Loren.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Rain of Mercy
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2020 17:50:42

This was a Free RPG day product for 2020, and specifically for this purpose 'Rain of Mercy' is a fast introduction to the basics of Wrath & Glory whole.

It gives you a quick taste of the baseline mechanics and characters (written much simpler than how they are in the full rules) while giving a basic adventure that has the hallmarks of a simple "grim" story with "dark" elements.

Obviously intended to be a Oneshot run in a day, I would find it hard to have the adventure last longer, which is the point as well. Allowing it to be a jumping point rather than something there to last.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Rain of Mercy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: The Graveyard Shift
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2020 12:43:19

The Graveyard Shift is a fast introduction into the very basics of Wrath & Glory.

While not covering the particulars of the revisions Cubicle 7 has completed to the original work released by Ulissses Spiele the adventure itself gives a good introduction into one of the less seen areas of the Imperium, a Cemetary World

It should take one or two sessions, depending on how thorough your players can be, and if a Game-Master wants to add in a few bits they could likely span it out over 3 sessions.

In it is useful bits to grab for your own toolbox as well in relation to bestiary entries and a chart for encounters in ruins.

All in all, a solid short adventure to grab for more than one reason.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: The Graveyard Shift
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Laundry - As Above, So Below
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2020 13:54:55

IT government service in Call of Cthulhu! It's a surprisingly better fit than one would expect.

A supplement for Cublicle 7's The Laundry RPG. Based on the series by Charles Stross.

As Above, So Below tasks your PCs with being the front-line in the hopeless battle against the Mythos. But it also lets your PCs be the middle and upper-management who run that hopeless war. You'll find being in charge is just as dangerous, if not more, than being on the pointy end of the stick. It's the Mythos; check you hope at the door.

Heartily recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Laundry - As Above, So Below
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Laundry - Targets of Acquisition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2020 13:52:16

IT government service in Call of Cthulhu! It's a surprisingly better fit than one would expect.

A supplement for Cublicle 7's The Laundry RPG. Based on the series by Charles Stross.

Targets of Acquisition contains a laundry-list of items for use as plot MacGuffins or traps for the PCs. It's CoC; you didn't expect the items to be beneficial, did you?

Heartily recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Laundry - Targets of Acquisition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Laundry RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2020 13:45:25

IT government service in Call of Cthulhu! It's a surprisingly better fit than one would expect.

The Laundry RPG captures the feel of the early volumes on Stross's Laundry Series. It contrasts nicely with the CoC version of Delta Green. In fact, I can see both being the same universe, with a bit of squinting.

I don't know about Cubicle 7's plans for the Laundry with the lapse of the CoC license from Chaosium. But I'm hopeful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Laundry RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2020 16:49:24

This is a great product. 140 pages of adventure. Plus another 20 pages of player maps, NPC, player handouts, and GM advice. It's a solid adventure with twists a number of twists, and helpful advice. It's a classic. Updated not only to fit current rules, but more modern style, format and readiblity standards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2020 12:08:32

Although I like these rules, they are currently going through a revision. Once complete, it may warrent a 5 star raiting and more detailed review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - Laughter of Dragons
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 17:18:07

The One Ring. It's an RPG that really captures the feeling of Tolkein's Middle Earth. Since that's what got a lot of players my age into RPGs (including me), I'm glad there's a game set in Middle Earth.

The Laughter of Dragons is everything you need to set your players up against a series of adventures as enjoyable as The Hobbit and culminating in a foe as epic as Smaug.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Laughter of Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 766 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates