DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound: Crash & Burn
by Sami H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2021 03:09:12

The adventure is a bit overwhelming in terms of pacing for an introduction one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound: Crash & Burn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 15:09:02

A compilation of five "multiple event driven" scenarios - beinging with the classic Rough Night at the Three Feathers first published in White Dwarf and adding four more follow on situations with broadly the same cast of repeating characters. They can be used as a mini-campaign or played as free standing adventures - though that requires a bit more GM prep and means characters may miss on some in jokes.

Without including any spoilers the adventures are each set in a different fixed location (a castle, an inn, a court house, an opera house, and a town house) and the party get to react (or not to) multiple different plot threads going on around them. This is great for an experienced GM with an engaged party, as it can involve keeping a lot of plates in the air as you track the actions of multiple NPCs and the results of PCs actions on developments - hopefully resulting in free wheeling chaotic goings on and dramatic interactions. Preparation as always helps, especailly when you are trying to organise chaos, similarly detailing in a couple of "faceless crowd" NPCs like guards or lady´s in waiting easily makes its look like everything in the game world is ploted out.

A group determined to be grim and dark at all times might not appreciate some of the lighter elements that need to be played for laughs. Also a GM who needs a more controlled setting to avoid getting flustered, or players who want clear objectives set up for every situation might not enjoy this format so much. Trying the similar single adventure "Its Your Funeral" might be a good way to try out this style of adventure.

The Two Appendixes introduce Gnomes to the Warhammer world - an interesting diversion, and way to shake up Warhammer veterans who think they know everything coming; but not supported elsewhere so GM will have to do almost all the integration themselves. And also rule s for Pub games to gamble away time as a game within the game - useful for background flavour and if a GM needs to pad out a session where they´ve had limited preparation (TIP - use as padding nearer to start than end of session).

Couple of issues to mention: first, whilst the action outlines are great for understanding details of what going on and how fits the differnt plots they are quite in depth. A GMs cheat sheet of bullet piont actions or a flow chart might help keep track of what happens when - easily done yourself though. Second, whilst the maps are good and worth reusing (and like rest of Cubicle 7´s internal art, beautiful) not sure they embrace the free wheeling lunacy these adventures might rapidly become - a little prep time adding details around the locations if villans are chased out into streets etc would pay off. For example - remember to tell your players the opera house has central aisle as it matters to at least one sub-plot; and whilst you´re at it at least one grand chandlier must be added...

Following up on all the potential plot threads and implications of these scenarios´ events can fill a lot of playtime. Just don´t expect it to be predictable - the wheels started to come of one subplot early in the first game when one of my PCs with Attractive talent "accidentally" seduced one of the supposed badass threat NPCs...

The key to getting the most out of these adventures is "Yes, and ..." its an improve exercise and don´t be afraid to keep tossing in complications at your players until things match the cover art. Or drop excess plot lines if things in danger of getting confused. Enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Bait and Witch
by Konstantin Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 13:25:42

A weaker adventure of the Ubersreik Adventure series. Without spoiling too much, it basically evolves around chasing people around the town without any grim or dark intrigue.

It might be better if combined in parallel with other adventures in Ubersreik, but as a standalone adventure - I doubt that would appeal to experienced players or GMs without additional work and ability to create tense atmoshpere.

Best run it after If Looks Could Kill, as some tie-in from that adventure would fit well (there are notes on how to do that).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Bait and Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: The Cluster-Eye Tribe
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2021 11:48:06

A timely suppliment which delivers a lot of what WFRP 4th ed needs; the templates to modify base creatures from core rulebook into different specailisms encourage a new GM to expand their range, and save old hands a lot of administration time. And those are generic change templates that could apply to any warband creature type - beastmen, orcs, etc.

There is a introduction and map to a regional situation around the Drakwald to bring in the spider riding forest goblins, that could be easily retooled to any desired forest in the Empire. Its great that the bad guys get a non-lethal option finally giving Warhammer players the option of capture and escape experience. The four NPCs and tactical plans make it easy to avoid that "just another gobin random encounter" feel. And finally printing out the rules for individual creature traits and talents in long form rather than a list to save GM´s desperately thumbing back for reference or improvising in mid-combat; which is tough enough in systems with seperate rule and creature books.

Not perfect of course but criticisms are minor - the goblin NPC art whislt good gives an impression of padding space but that is only a couple of pages; having all the trait details on a reference sheet at the back rather than with the actual stat blocks makes the innovation good rather than great. Biggest gripe is very little information on the spiders that are supposedly central to forest goblins specific culture - and none I could see for the little dangerous variety trailed in the opening favour text.

All in all an encouraging start to a new product line. Well done Cubicle 7.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: The Cluster-Eye Tribe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Altdorf Crown of the Empire
by charles L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2021 14:53:26

Altdorf, Crown of the Empire is an extensive, comprehensive and well researched document providing those who run WFRP games with a powerful resource to use in their games. I really enjoy that not only do the authors include “modern” Warhammer elements but they blend these with people, plots and places from the Genevieve novels and other older lore. Add to this many new and interesting characters and idea, subplots and suggestions and it builds into a brilliant piece of writing and art. Artwork is strong throughout – with my favorites being the b/w character profiles but the cityscapes are also lovely. In terms of information, the city is cleanly presented with extensive sections on the city history and the complicated power structure within it – offering opportunities for higher level campaigns with the Great and the Good as much on the docklands with gang wars. Each city district is well explored and retains its own character and adventuring opportunities. I would highly recommend. One very minor quiblle is that Under-Altdorf is very different (and less interesting) than the Thanquol novel version but this will have little to no effect on most players or Gms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Altdorf Crown of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: It’s Your Funeral
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 16:31:13

Event driven adventure in mould of classic Rough Night at Three Feathers. Several inter-related plots that run on timetable together - meaning players get to focus on what they are finding interesting, and other items that are left can develop further on their own. Would be best for a GM comfortable improvising or wanting to practice - as adding PCs into this cycle of events is bound to send original plan spinning... Following up all the plot threads and contacts generated from this adventure could extend into several extra sessions of play for an engaged party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: It’s Your Funeral
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Bloody Gates
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 12:27:17

A basic description of the adventure taken from the booklet:

"This adventure is suitable for Human Tier 1 characters with the IMPERIUM Keyword. The adventure takes place entirely on a battlefield, making it most suitable for characters with a military calling. The Agents will be organised into a battlefield squad. While it would make sense for all the Agents to have the Imperial Guardsman Archetype, a personnel shortage has forced the Astra Militarum to sweep up all kinds of individuals and send them into battle as part of the Gilead Gravediggers’ Penal Brigade."

The adventure notes which archetypes are are prudent for the adventure given it's a penal brigade including a new Framework to use for the adventure.

If you haven't picked up Forsaken System players guide we do see a note of a Grapnel Launcher and a Demo Charge in terms of new equipment/weapons. Admittedly I don't directly recall if the demo charge was from Forsakenn System but I feel something similar to it is in there.

Also provided are Smoke Grenades and a Breaching Ladder, and a Frag Bomb.

Throughout the adventure are instances of obstacles common to a siege like scenario from scaling a wall to fortifying a position, to trying to lead a tank through a mindfield. All of these would be useful to take and put in your toolbox for any sort of adventure, not just a guard campaign.

Provided we see some new (and old) notes for the Bestiary:

  • Commisar Shrake
  • Penal Brigade Trooper
  • Traitor Militia (including Sniper modification)
  • Doomed Youth
  • Traitor Guardsman
  • Cravax the Claw
  • Cultist
  • Poxwalker

Most interestingly, and a mechanic I feel can be lifted most easily elsewhere, is the "Calling for Support" section of the adventure.

PCs can spend Glory to call in various effects from higher up in the chain of command. These effects can be Artillery Support to a Spotlight for difficult to see battlefield sections.

In turn the GM gets a similar mechanic called "Battlefield Ruin" which is a bit like Narrative Declarations for the GM to modify the battleffield with (new and useful for sure as any new way to spend the resources of the table is good)

In conclusion, for what the adventure says it is, 'Bloody Gates' is incredibly competent and offers mechanics that any guard game emulating Only War would find incredibly useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Bloody Gates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
by Theo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2021 17:36:23

Death on the Reik is a deservedly classic adventure and the book is pretty enough, but I found it the most disappointing of the new editions of TEW so far. It does very little to adress or improve the well-known issues with the adventure (such as the flimsy hooks, a problem plaguing the whole of TEW), and in some cases even makes them worse, like moving the most obvious plot hook from the main adventure to an easily-missed appendix.

My full review is here: https://theenemywithinremixed.wordpress.com/2021/05/21/thoughts-on-the-4e-death-on-the-reik/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Something Knocking
by Ed S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 16:13:47

Robin Low is one of WFRP’s least known veteran contributors and probably the most under appreciated. You’ve not heard of him because, as far as I know, he has no blog, no twitch stream, no poor box to contribute to (patreon), and despite being a prolific writer on the esoteric and sundry that is Warhammer, very few of his articles and scenarios from the last two decades are available on PDF.

As such, when I saw this with his name attached I immediately bought it.

Ouija boards, murder and mayhem, pirates and screaming goats--what more could you ask for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Something Knocking
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2021 07:01:12

Forsaken System Player's Guide is one of the surviving ideas from the previous license holders Ulisses Spiele North America, at least according to what they discussed as to their plans from Gencon a few years ago.

It had a different title then, but the idea remained intact, a book expanding largely Imperially aligned archtype options and adding a few extra mechanics to the overall system while expanding on the lore of the Gilead System.

The Forsaken System Player's guide delivers on all those fronts, and even gives the previously only available "beta" rules for Ogryn and Ratling species archetype a release as well.

Included mechanically are:

  • New Frameworks: under the guise of expanded Patron selections
  • Duties & Strictures: Faction expansion that ties into Endeavours
  • Character Options:
    • Species:
      • Kroot
      • Ogryn
      • Ratling
    • Archetypes:
      • Dialogus
      • Imagifies
      • Seraphim
      • Canoness
      • Astartes Apothecary
      • Astartes Chaplain
      • Astartes Librarian
      • Primaris Reiver
      • Tech-Adept
      • Sicarian Infiltrator
      • Sicarian Rustalker
      • Tech-Priest Dominus
      • Confessor
      • Ratling Sniper
      • Ogryn Warrior
      • Bullgryn
      • Lexmechanic
      • Interrogator
      • Kroot Mercenary
  • Exanded Wargear: for accompanied archetypes
  • Librarius Discipline: For the Librarian
  • Endeavours: Downtime actions between adventures for agents to get ahold of information, equipment, or train themselves for what is to come.

My only issue really is that nearly 2/3 of the book is dedicated to lore, and while that lore is nice and there are plenty of adventure seeds many oldguard Black Industries and Fantasy Flight Games fans of the d100 systems remember the equivalent of this book in 'Inquisitor's Handbook' and the like, and those had more content. Hopefully this will even itself out with the release of 'Church of Steel' in the coming months as it is set to reintroduce the cut vehicle and starship rules from the USNA version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Altdorf Crown of the Empire
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 07:07:16

I really enjoyed a look into the new addition of Altdorf. I have the 2nd Ed version and there are some great carry overs from that book with the addiotn of some awesome NPCs and Plot hooks for your games. I particularly love the additon of the different knight chapters in the city. I am a huge fan of the Reiksguard and the addion of Kurt Helborg with a stat block is PERFECT. Throw in the colleges of magic, mythical creatures to hunt in the city, University life, chaos cults, how different old world races interact in Altdorf and even an under Empire (Yes-Yes).... It's damn near perfect and a must have for your Old world games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Altdorf Crown of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by Nathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2021 22:30:11

Wrath and glory is awesome and I had a great time playing it with friends! it was one of my first times being a game master and it was just fine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP - Hell Rides to Hallt
by Maurice e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 07:42:59

(for the TL:DR see bottom of review) I have been a WFRP player since 1995 and a gamemaster (GM) for WFRP since 1996. I've been a demonstration GM since 1998 and I visit local conventions and gaming groups when people want me to explain WFRP to them. To do so, I play short sessions up to 4 hours and use these sessions to let people have a peek in the grim and perilous world of Warhammer. I have played 2nd edition and still play 1st edition and 4th edition. I feel I must write this because when I play a demo game I usually do one of two things: I use the short scenario made by Anthony Ragan called "To love or die in Marienburg" or I create a small scenario myself.

Untill now.

Hell rides to Hallt is a short scenario that actually has it all. The Grim, old Folkore style atmosphere sucks the players right in. And it does not matter if they are hardcore WFRP players or people who take their first steps into roleplaying alltogether. The main plot is carefully laid out, but there are very interesting sub-plots that keep the players busy too. As a GM, you can easily switch between the plots, feeding the players information and setting a tense, chilling setting in the town of Hallt. The antagonist is very well written, with lots of mysteries and secrets that the players need to find out. The main characters of the story all have deep histories and are tied together by a dark secret that is just waiting for the player characters to find out. All this info is ready for the GM at a glance and the layout of the story is written in such a way that it is very easy to play the scenario without much planning or having to write things down. The images are suited for the story and add that extra detail to the horror that is being placed upon the player characters. And here, to my opinion, lies the only drawback of the scenario. I find this is not for the faint of heart or very young players. My belief is that this should be played on Halloween and this scenario just begs to be "Sleepy Hollow"-esque in setting. You can water it down and make it less scary, but to truly appreciate this scenario, one must have the stomach to see a few "heads roll". This is, ultimately, up to the GM and I have heard people playing this scenario with 8 year old players.

I have played this scenario 7 times, 2 times with my hardcore gaming group of 18 years. And people just love it. The immersion is instant and stays there untill the scenario finishes. My own group demanded we play Hell rides to Hallt again with different characters, as they wanted to make sure they got all the extra secrets and plot twists right.

TL:DR: pro:

  • short scenario, making it easy to play in one evening.
  • highly adaptable, plots are all linked and can be given more prio at will. this scenario can be instered into your campaign at any time.
  • dark, gritty setting with a whiff of old folklore
  • replayable
  • handy layout in the book with cool images

con:

  • not really suited for young players or the faint of heart. (can be watered down in level of scaryness though)

Hell rides to Hallt is a must have in the digital library of every GM. If this scenario would be double the price, I would STILL reccomend it.

Maurice



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP - Hell Rides to Hallt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2021 15:18:31
I have enjoyed looking through the set, and the adventure is interesting and possibly quite entertaining to run . I like the feel and tone they have brought to Warhammer. Most of concern revoles around Editing and as many have said and a map would be nice. I am sure this will be fixed in the new year. I am happy with the purchase. The above problems have been fixed. Thank you

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Maps are up now.
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound: Bestiary
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 16:53:14

A great bestiary full of a wide variety of creatures and antagonists with innovative, flavorful mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound: Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 772 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates