DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cypher System Fantasy Compendium
by Peter V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2021 14:11:37

The conversion is very well done. It allows smooth entry for any D&D player into the cypher system. I highly recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Fantasy Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Your Best Game Ever
by Devon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2021 22:28:19

This book is a wonderful examination of the tabletop RPG hobby and what it means to participate in it. It analyzes what it is to be a player, a GM and is packed full of advice to help you be a better participant at the table. The discussion and advice is applicable to all experience levels, from beginners to 40+ year veterans. Because of this, some of the issues and their solutions will strike some as obvious, but I found myself nodding along at the genius of other approaches, or shocked to realize that I, myself, was guilty of the sins presented. All in all, this book is about playing tabletop RPGs and making your experience, and that of the other players at your table, the best they can be.

Strewn throughout the book, small articles by other games professionals present their own thoughts and comments on facets of the hobby. You might find something by your favorite designer or personality. Everything in the book is approached in a casual manner, and speaks to the reader at their level. I did not feel condescended to by the text. I felt welcomed, and conversed with as an equal.

The layout of the book is clean and attractive, as I've come to expect from all Monte Cook Games products. It's easy to read the text. The art seems to be sourced from other game products, but is all fun and interesting. If you are searching for advice to better yourself as a player and/or GM, I highly recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Your Best Game Ever
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Darkest House
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2021 10:32:35

Sometimes we learn by seeing how others create. The Darkest House inspired me to look at layering in my gamemastering. It is a great resource to see how, why and what game construction.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Darkest House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cypher System Fantasy Compendium
by Chad F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2021 09:40:54

A really good start at converting D&D SRD material to Cypher. I already could quickly convert monsters and items with mental math, but the spell lists conversion is gold for players who want lots of traditional spells after coming into Cypher from "the worlds most popular RPG". :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Fantasy Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Consent in Gaming
by Alicia O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2021 11:24:48

The fact that so many of the other reviews react so agressively to this book is in itself proof why it's needed. Apperently, empathy is in short supply among far to many dudes. And yes, it's almost always dudes going ballistic over things like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Where the Machines Wait
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2021 17:41:07

A quintessentially Numenera five part dungeon for DnD 5e. Arcana of the Ancients is a must have to run this adventure for monsters and treasures (handy page numbers are included in the margins). The location of the "Grave of the Machines" is deliberately vague so as to easily fit into your existing game world, and there are optional links to "The Hills of Crooked Sleep" adventure found in Ancana of the Ancients.

I'd say this is a must buy for DMs who already own AotA, and I'd recomend players stay away so as to not spoil it for themselves. Cypher system GMs can use this book with the help of an apendix in the back, but it'll add a lot of page turning to your prepwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Where the Machines Wait
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

No Thank You, Evil!
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 12:07:37

Angel's Citadel recently reviewed this title. You can find that review here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/03/26/review-no-thank-you-evil/

If you are looking at getting young kids into role playing, this is absolutely a viable option and you should check it out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Thank You, Evil!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mystery Of Woden's Eye - 01
by Laura L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2021 19:42:28

I give this product 3.5 stars overall. In general there were a number of good points, a few that were ok, and none were horrible. I was the GM with 2 NPCs and had one player who was running 2 characters. I found it to be a great starter adventure for two people playing the Cypher System for the first time, but who've had a number of yers experience in various RPGs

The adventure is 28 pages including a front page, back page, and three blank pages towards the back.

The ideas are sound and interesting, but I believe the material could have used an editor to fine tune it. There were a couple of things like a voice over that said to visit the visitor's kiosk and there wasn't one in the adventure, some grammatical and stylistic errors, along with one or two things that didn't quite add up, but all in all, had I known everything I know now, I would still have bought it.

Some Spoilers beyond this point

This adventure is about exploring a facility where a mass murder has taken place. I found that my player was really into the exploration of the place and a lot of tension was building because she didn't know what had happened, or if it was still there and a threat to her. Was she facing some kind of alien threat? A crazy person? What? The biggest flaw I found was that room 4 contains the explanation to what happened at the base. Finding it was a let down since it really popped the suspense bubble. I would really suggest moving it to level 2 for anyone else who wants to run this adventure.

The one thing I found to be really stellar was the optional beginning found at the back of the book. It got my player engaged right away, built a great deal of tension, gave each PC and NPC a chance to shine in their forte and generally left my player a little breathless (and relieved) when they finally managed to not die at the end. Or become road smear.

The adventure also speaks about ductwork that connects all the areas with one specific area. Having a ready made mop of the ductwork could be useful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery Of Woden's Eye - 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Laura, it is appreciated. I do plan to give this adventure an overhaul once a couple other projects get completed.
Modern Types
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2021 01:21:27

This is a sold tool for running a modern Cypher System game. It takes care of the "headache" and time involved in customizing types for a modern setting. Reviewed in more detail here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Types
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UXP Deck
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 01:54:36

I have a more thorough review of this on my blog. However, aside from being very visually appealing, this deck makes some of the at times overlooked uses for XP in Cypher System games more inviting to players and overall adds some spice to the process of spending XP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UXP Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mal'Vandal's Mythic Vade Mecum: A MegaMagic Remix
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2021 21:33:39

Love the Ideas. Writing needs a lot of work. In its current state, I find it is overpriced as it seems like it lacks basic care in that area. But the Ideas are honestly gold. Please work on the presentation of the writing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mal'Vandal's Mythic Vade Mecum: A MegaMagic Remix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Haunting of Creedmore Asylum
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2021 11:53:35

I reviewed this in more detail on my blog. However, in brief this is an excellent short adventure if you want a solid crawl through a haunted "house", like horrific twists, or if you just want to play around with how madness works in the Cypher System.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunting of Creedmore Asylum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Amber Monolith (Numenera Fiction)
by Gregory G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 08:26:42

This piece of short fiction is very evocative of the Numenera setting. It was a quick and enjoyable read that whetted my appetite for the game system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Amber Monolith (Numenera Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mal'Vandal's Mythic Vade Mecum: A MegaMagic Remix
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2021 23:24:20

If you don’t want to sit through an entire review, I’ll summarize right now: This supplement is a must have for all Cypher players who not only wish to convert their D&D friends, but any Cypher player who adores fantasy in general. This supplement absolutely rocks and is jam packed with inspiring tidbits for any fantasy game. It won’t spell everything out for you, but it will give you all of the tools you need to run effective magic in your games.

Brought to us by the de facto Cypher System master, the Alpha Dean, the Vade Mecum provides not only a glimpse into how to convert a classic fantasy wizard into the Cypher System, but gives us a way of doing so that reminds us of the core flexibility that the system provides.

The supplement starts off with some worldbuilding flavor. It outlines some key concepts for magic levels ranging from the gritty to the fantastic, and the types of spellcasters that can exist in your world. It’s not comprehensive, but it gives just enough for a cunning GM to twist and mutate into something that fits the exact type of game that they want to run. The worldbuilding is followed with a few new spellcasting rules, most notably the Primal (Primordial) Pool, and an extensive spell list and some advice on reskinning them for your game.
The Primal, or Primordial, Pool is easily the most significant addition to the core ruleset. At its core, it’s an entire fourth pool that exists to augment your existing spells and abilities, along with some spell counter measures. It comes with its own rules for advancement, “mastery”, and “backlash”, a system that succinctly represents the chaos that comes with manipulating pure energy. The spell list is chock full of spells that represent many fantasy tropes, along with advice on reskinning them to fit your specific characters or world. Many of the spells invoke classic fantasy TTRPGs, while still fitting within the realm of the Cypher System. They are all solidly written and clearly worded, to minimize conflict at the game table. The book ends with some rules on Enchanting, and the table for Backlash effects. While not the focus of the book, I find this execution of enchantment to be one of the cleaner ones out there for Cypher System. There’s no written limit on what Enchanting can do, or even how much it costs – but that’s the beauty of it. As the GM, you’re allowed to play with it and see what works for your table, and what’s fun for your players.

And that really is the core of this book – comprehensive and clear, but flexible enough to be worked into any game table. There’s no prescribed method of play here, it’s all meant to be turned and twisted in whichever way you want. And in that aspect, I’d say the author pulled off what he wanted – a magical system that invokes the flexibility of the system it’s supplementing.

If you held me at gunpoint and forced me to give a criticism, I’d say that perhaps some more commentary or lore about the main “character” of this book, Mal’Vandal, would have been appreciated. Perhaps even a way to implement the man himself into a game.

Overall, I’d definitely say that this is an essential for anyone looking to replicate or relive the feeling of Vancian spellcasting in Cypher System.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mal'Vandal's Mythic Vade Mecum: A MegaMagic Remix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unmasked
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2020 12:43:54

Angel's Citadel just did a review on this product. You can check it out HERE.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unmasked
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 436 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates