DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Catgirl Handbook
by Goku M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2021 03:19:34

I have to say this has been a super up lifting book i love their april fools books, keep them coming! i look forward to these every year!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Catgirl Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Errant Champion
by Wil W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2021 08:24:08

Overall this is a pretty solid read if you're looking at adding additional character options to your game. It's well written and does a decent job at blending new ideas with current ones to provide both the sense of "this is it's own thing" while also being able to feel reassured that it's not coloring too far outside the lines.

To answer the every looming question every player or GM has when it comes to 3rd party supplements; How powerful is it?

As an entire package I'd say it's a perfect fit for tables that include the Advanced Player's Guide material in their pool of options. You'll find similarities with several feats and abilities that borrow from other classes, but it does so in a way that doesn't seem like it's only cherry picking the best parts from them. The "Errant" cause does lean more heavily into it's Champion Reaction than the other causes and is one of the key parts the entire concept is built around.

From a roleplay and class information standpoint I do believe there is room for additional detail. Although the primary core of the cause is to walk one's own path and be your own boss, I do believe it should still have some sort of code by which it exists to help keep some of its Champion roots and not just seem like a Fighter variant. "You have forsaken or given up such divine blessings and favors, instead seeking to harness your own determination and spirit in the face of diversity." How does this interact with Archetypes that may have strong divinity connections to Deities such as Cleric or Blessed One? How does this interact with skill feat choices such as Battle Prayer? Players and GM's for the moment may need to fill in the blanks themselves and come up with their own "code" by which the character lives by, draws power in belief from, and risks perhaps losing some of that power if their belief falters.

One suggestion for future revisions of the book would be to move the paragraph found the top of page 3 under the "New Feats'' header to a better spot where it stands out as it contains vital information that could be overlooked and give a false impression of power with some of the feats if the reader had missed it. Perhaps one of those slightly colorful sidebars you see in some rulebooks, or a more noticeable header to call attention to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Errant Champion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Glory
by Greg W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2021 14:33:09

It seems to be standard behaviour to bemoan how underpowered rogues are. I'm not so sure, I find the combat rogue flanking specialist to be pretty devastating, even if it is a glass canon. The Unchained rules really help the rogue to power-up and, if you go mythic, then they are pretty awesome. Still, that does seem to limit them to one style of play.

Rogue Glory certainly gives them a power boost and lots of cool options. The author is clearly passionate about the subject and gives great energy to the matter. This book is excellent value for money and is strong addition to any collection. I would warn GMs to allow some of these options with caution. The Urban Ninja archetype is in effect the ultimate version of the rogue. Probably a bit too OP (but groovy mind you) which is why I haven't given it the full 5 stars (although value for money is a definite 5). The author probably did it all himself, and as such, has left a few little spelling mistakes in there, 'pray' instead of 'prey' and such like - it doesn't spoil it. A really enjoyable read - now if can just persuade my GM...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Glory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Expanded Archetypes (PF2)
by Joshua J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 08:51:15

Lots of new feats for Assassin and Pirate, both of which were clearly needed. For the price, it's very worth it if you plan to use either of those archetypes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Archetypes (PF2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Realmwalker's Handbook
by Antoine M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2021 14:38:35

An absolute blast to read through and an absolute smorgasbord of varied content to use. A wonderful addition for any fans of teleporting, realm-traveling, space-themed abilities and fun new content.

My players were clamoring for this to get released from playtest for a while and it delivered beyond satisfactorily when it released. Would reccomend picking it up for any fan of the Spheres subsystem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Realmwalker's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Realmwalker's Handbook
by Nathaniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 03:50:50

Realmwalker's is a very well rounded addition that provides exciting new abilites as well as a couple refreshing updates to old talents. There are a number of new talents and feats for both casters and martials as well as a fun Symbiat archetype and a Prestige Class. I really like the new Elemental Augmentations that got added, particularly how accessible they are compared to the existing augmentations. And the new Ley Line content adds a great new set of tools for DMs. Overall, Realmwalker's manages to give a little something to everyone while still managing to stay on theme and add meaningful new content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spheres of Power 5e
by derek c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2021 12:43:32

It's the kind of modular magic that 5e needs, it lets me build my caster exactly how I want. It is a little "crunchier" than vanilla 5e, but I like systems with a little crunch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spheres of Power 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spheres of Might
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 18:00:48

Game Masters, Beware! Fun system for Players that is ripe for abuse! Spheres of Might just as unbalanced as the Spheres of Power system.

I read the glowing reviews from Endzeitgeist and thought, wow, this will be a neat system for the players. Little did I know that the players would take literally every opportunity to abuse this system that they could. They will take abilities that chop up their action economy and have them acting through and literally on top of every other player’s turn in the game.

The system itself is quite creative. It uses a power points system that moves away from what smarky players like to call “Vancian Casting”. If you want to try a power points modular system, this is a good one to go with. The problem is that this system doesn’t take game balance, IE the literal math upon which the entire game is built, into consideration. It throws balance and game economy out the window.

My recommendation to GM/DMs is to only allow this if you trust your players 100%. It is too easy to abuse, and I’ve had to learn over the course of three campaigns spread through five years that Spheres of Power/Might players will do everything they can to destroy the game balance and make the entire game about them and their single PC.

As for design, I can only give this system three stars. The way the creators take action economy and literally IGNORE it is a pain in the derriere. Taking the notion of acting on top of other players' turns is just a horrible idea. Once may be acceptable, but over and over is not. It's a game designed for a group of people to play and enjoy, not for one player to take control of every other player's turns. It's honestly disgusting.

In summation, an interesting system. Horrible for game balance. Too easy to abuse by power gaming players.

Recommended to avoid at all costs, unless you want your game destroyed. Only let your friends that you absolutely trust play with it. Otherwise, avoid it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spheres of Might
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ultimate Spheres of Power
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 17:48:44

Game Masters, Beware! Fun system for Players that is ripe for abuse!

I read the glowing reviews from Endzeitgeist and thought, wow, this will be a neat system for the players. Little did I know that the players would take literally every opportunity to abuse this system that they could. They will take abilities that chop up their action economy and have them acting through and literally on top of every other player’s turn in the game.

The system itself is quite creative. It uses a power points system that moves away from what smarky players like to call “Vancian Casting”. If you want to try a power points modular system, this is a good one to go with. The problem is that this system doesn’t take game balance, IE the literal math upon which the entire game is built, into consideration. It throws balance and game economy out the window.

My recommendation to GM/DMs is to only allow this if you trust your players 100%. It is too easy to abuse, and I’ve had to learn over the course of three campaigns spread through five years that Spheres of Power/Might players will do everything they can to destroy the game balance and make the entire game about them and their single PC.

As for design, I can only give this system FOUR stars, because it just takes everything that the game was built upon and ignores it. I deducted another star because when I backed this on Kickstarter, it was sold as the ULTIMATE SPHERES OF POWER.

Ultimate is an adjective meaning “being or happening at the end of a process; final.”

This book is anything but the final collection and honestly, I felt betrayed by the creators. They continued to release supplements during the kickstarter that were not included and then continued to release supplements after the Kickstarter was concluded. I wanted to purchase the system in its final form, not the PENULTIMATE version. Be upfront with your customers next time.

In summation, an interesting system. Horrible for game balance. Too easy to abuse by power gaming players. Deceptive marketing from the designers.

Recommended to avoid at all costs, unless you want your game destroyed. Only let your friends that you absolutely trust play with it. Otherwise, avoid it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Spheres of Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Spheres of Power
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 17:48:02

Game Masters, Beware! Fun system for Players that is ripe for abuse!

I read the glowing reviews from Endzeitgeist and thought, wow, this will be a neat system for the players. Little did I know that the players would take literally every opportunity to abuse this system that they could. They will take abilities that chop up their action economy and have them acting through and literally on top of every other player’s turn in the game.

The system itself is quite creative. It uses a power points system that moves away from what smarky players like to call “Vancian Casting”. If you want to try a power points modular system, this is a good one to go with. The problem is that this system doesn’t take game balance, IE the literal math upon which the entire game is built, into consideration. It throws balance and game economy out the window.

My recommendation to GM/DMs is to only allow this if you trust your players 100%. It is too easy to abuse, and I’ve had to learn over the course of three campaigns spread through five years that Spheres of Power/Might players will do everything they can to destroy the game balance and make the entire game about them and their single PC.

As for design, I can only give this system FOUR stars, because it just takes everything that the game was built upon and ignores it. I deducted another star because when I backed this on Kickstarter, it was sold as the ULTIMATE SPHERES OF POWER.

Ultimate is an adjective meaning “being or happening at the end of a process; final.”

This book is anything but the final collection and honestly, I felt betrayed by the creators. They continued to release supplements during the kickstarter that were not included and then continued to release supplements after the Kickstarter was concluded. I wanted to purchase the system in its final form, not the PENULTIMATE version. Be upfront with your customers next time.

In summation, an interesting system. Horrible for game balance. Too easy to abuse by power gaming players. Deceptive marketing from the designers.

Recommended to avoid at all costs, unless you want your game destroyed. Only let your friends that you absolutely trust play with it. Otherwise, avoid it.

Edit: The Mythic version utilizes LEGENDARY abilities which make the game completely unbalanced. I didn't think there was a way to make Spheres of Power more unbalanced than it was, but the designers figured it out. Kudos to you. Avoid unless you're a masochist.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Spheres of Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spheres of Might 5e
by Shaun T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 16:14:40

At first glance, Spheres of Might appeared to be just a new talent system to add to or replace the current Feats option in D&D. Those sorts of supplements tend to have issues with overpowering characters, but the concept seemed solid, the artwork was top notch, and really, who doesn't love spending talent points? After really digging into it, I quickly realized that this was one of the most in-depth, well balanced supplements that I've seen in years.

The piece includes background traditions for building characters, new classes based on their Sphere system, and a complete martial skill system that is entirely customizable for each individual character. The amount of options presented is impressive and the fact that most of it is grounded in basic D&D skills and mechanics even more so. This supplement doesn't try to reinvent the game, but it does offer a whole new evolution. See my full review on the Drunken Dragon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spheres of Might 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Catgirl Handbook
by Garrick W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 19:25:00

The thing I love about Drop Dead Studios's work is that even the "joke" books have well-designed, high quality content. The Catgirl Handbook has some genuinely good options like a feat for applying Life sphere effects to shapeshifted targets and a much needed trait for Alteration's Retain Ability where you can shapeshift someone into a hybrid between their normal self and their new form. Even the silly options like purring feats and a maid outfit that turns you into a catgirl are well thought out. Overall, a fun read with useful options!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Catgirl Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Catgirl Handbook
by Tom G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 22:29:06

Don't let the title fool you, there is a lot of genuinely well written and balanced content in this book, even if much of it has a silly cat pun for a name.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Catgirl Handbook
by Nathaniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 19:42:16

As with previous April 1st books, this book has a funny theme but is absolutely filled with excellent new talents, class archetypes, feats, and more. With many great puns but also references to mythology and lore. The breadth of options offered means that there's something for everyone, including a whole new line of feats that everyone from the fighter leading the charge to the animal companion in the back can make good use of, adding many flavorful new choices. This book strikes an excellent balance between silly themes and meaningful mechanics and is easily one of my favorites.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spheres Apocrypha: Battlefield Manipulation Talents
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2021 07:16:47

This book adds a handful of talents that allow for area denial or forced movment, and several that make playing a buffer even more fun. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves battlefield manipulation more than straight up sace-of-lose or damage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spheres Apocrypha: Battlefield Manipulation Talents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 234 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates