DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Avatar Legends: The RPG Quickstart
by Austin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2021 00:30:00

i went through check out for this title, received email confirmation, email stated the quickstart would be in my library, but nothing. instead i have a notice to write a review which has a link to the quickstart which then tells me "this title is unavailable."



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Avatar Legends: The RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey Austin! Apologies for the challenge here. This was fixed as of yesterday. If you're still running into this issue, please let Customer Service know so we can look into it. Thank you! https://support.drivethrurpg.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
The Play's The Thing
by Jennifer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2021 01:22:22

Ran this as a one-shot for a birthday party, and we had so much fun! There were some mechanics that ended up being ditched along the way, and the entire point system went out the window in fairly short order, but we had so much fun creating our very own Shakespearean adaptation--and watching it go off the rails!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Play's The Thing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avatar Legends: The RPG Quickstart
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 10:50:47

I have been waited for this game for years, since I got into TTRPGs. I played any character option close to a bender in pretty much every RPG at some point. I have dreamt of playing an official game and made several unoffical hacks in several systems trying to come up with something for me and my friends. This has lived up to my every expectation and more.

I love the PBTA system, having recently played it in TSL for a few games, and it works surprisingly well for the feel of Avatar. While I wish there was a bit more guidelines on what bending could do, or had some more original art, I'm also glad they left it up to GM discrestion as bending largely should be and got a strong sense of nostalgia from reading it, even if I've seen this show recently.

Overall this is an amazing RPG and something anyone with even a passing interest in Avatar should try, I have had a desire for this for years now and this has not only quenched that thirst, but it's the quenchiest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avatar Legends: The RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Halcyon City Herald Collection: A Masks Supplement
by Evan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2021 15:02:11

My playgroup has been really enjoying dipping their toes into Masks and Halcyon City Herland Collection was a great addition to the game with playbooks they could take on and tons of plothooks and lore. The vast majority of the book gives great ideas for handouts and storylines that you could pick up for your own table to challenge your heroes and then it presents a set of new playbooks in order to be able to play new types of heroes. My group picked up the Newborn and the Redeemed to add to their superhero team and they brought some really fun themes to the table as an addition. Both the lore/hooks and the playbooks have really helped open up the options and ideas for the world of our game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halcyon City Herald Collection: A Masks Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Root: The Tabletop Roleplaying Game Quickstart
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 14:36:47

This form is really cool and i'm really excited about the finished project!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Root: The Tabletop Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masks: A New Generation
by Evan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2021 14:14:02

Been having a really fun time playing Masks and in particular love the way that the group of heroes comes together in character creation to help build the world of Halycon and populate it with relevant heroes and NPCs in their world. As a narrative game the fiction is really empowered to help drive your adventures and then the moves both general and specific to playbooks give the team a way to interact with one another and showcase their powers without a ton of complex rules. I would recommend this game whole heartedly to comic book fans who want to live out their teen superhero dreams and groups that love to collaborate and work together on building out the world they play in and their heroes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks: A New Generation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bluebeard's Bride
by Michele F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2021 11:35:26

Pretty nice, I've liked to periment with this RPG and stole some idea for my other campaigns.

Just let the plyers understand that has a woman int the olds time, there is no way that life is going easy on you AND thi only if you are one of the few lucky ones.

NB: This game could be going pretty dark, because nt only the Rulers wil show the Horror but others player will be encouraged in it too and theri fantasies could be wild. Remeber to everyone the rule "in any time, if you feel uncomfortable, let us know"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bluebeard's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Shadows (1st Ed.)
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:40:48

Fun game of city politics in an urban fantasy setting. Requires proactive, bought-in players, and you'll need to define the setting yourselves. But the system will support at least a few sessions of political drama.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Shadows (1st Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pasión de las Pasiones: Quickstart
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 20:49:29

Pasión de las Pasiones is some of the funnest times I've had playing an RPG. As a latina, and having played both the ashcan and this version, I assure you that this game totally captures the essence of telenovelas. Drama, serious and so cheesy that you can't help but laugh is prompted again and again. The included playset, La Rosa, transported my group and I immediately to Acapulco y la zona del Princess, a very fancy development area in the city.

Overall the game is amazing and very much streamlined from the ashcan version, tho the audience reaction are sorely missing.

It deserves as much of your attention as you can give it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pasión de las Pasiones: Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bluebeard's Bride
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2020 23:07:52

"Bluebeard’s Bride is not for the faint of heart, but for horror fans or people at least interested in exploring it I haven’t come across another game that works as well within that genre. The content is genuinely scary, the rules all work towards maintaining the right vibe, there is a surprising amount of room for creativity (even for a PbtA game) on both the side of the Groundskeeper and the Sisters, and even the basic ‘How to Play’ text is written to start making the shadows seem deeper. Even the look of the book (which is very nice even in PDF form) helps with this: there’s weird, echoey-looking text all over the place, blood drips from section dividers, the art is extremely well done, and important text is often an eerie blue."

Read the full CHG review and interview with Marissa Kelly here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2018/11/30/bluebeards-bride-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bluebeard's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Root: The Pellenicky Glade Quickstart
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2020 20:04:02

This was a fun adventure to jumpstart our Root campaign that's given us a number of different contacts and story threads to continue through more stories.

Pellenicky Glade provides a compelling story with a lot of NPC, interweaving motivations, backgrounds, and suggestions for interactions. The plot is open-ended and really provides the ingredients for collaborative story-telling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Root: The Pellenicky Glade Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bluebeard's Bride
by Shanna E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2020 12:33:36

Absolutely breathtaking. A completely singular game. I've played a lot of different RPGs, but this one is my absolute favorite. As a steadfast fan of horror, fairy tales, and the depth of human darkness (well, not a fan, but certainly fascinated), I think this game has it all. It's beautifully illustrated, wonderfully written, and I can't suggest it highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bluebeard's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pasión de las Pasiones: Quickstart
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 13:51:17

Came across this by chance and thought I'd give it a go. First of all, neither myself or my players had any idea about the examples that were given (stories like Yo Soy Betty, La Fea, Marimar, and Jane the Virgin) - not heard of them let alone seen any of them. So we decided to go with a format that we were familiar with - the big glossy US soaps of the 80s and 90s like Dallas and Dynasty. The quickstart enables you to get right into the action quickly, pickingyour story up well into the series. There's enough choice with the ready made characters to have a well rounded couple of sessions. Playability was good and lent itself to a fast-paced game with even the non-participating players able to contribute via the audience mechanic. The one drawback we found was with the available moves which seemed a bit limited. For example, during play one character ended up in a car chase which we could not see fitted with any of the moves. Our solution wss to come up with a couple of custom moves of our own on the fly as and when they arose. Overall everyone enjoyed the game. We played a few sessions with a couple of episodes. Managed to end on a gripping cliffhanger with a few hooks bubbling for the next season. Will wait for the core rulebook to come out before continuing with our next time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pasión de las Pasiones: Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pasión de las Pasiones: Quickstart
by Nicolas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 19:56:08

If you want a game that will have you and everyone at the table hooting and hollering in delight, waiting for melodramatic hijinks to begin, then this is the game for you. This game takes the best parts of telenovela tropes and allows the players to mold them into a fun and satisfying storytelling experience. The interplay between the active players in a scene and those who are "the audience" is wonderful and gives everyone who isn't in the spotlight a chance to affect and interact with the fiction. It's really hard to have a dull or slow moment in the game and leaves everyone at the table wanting more.

I can't heap enough praise for how well this game emulates the genre within the Powered by the Apocalypse engine and I can't wait for it's full release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bluebeard's Bride: Tarot Companion
by Johnathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 19:01:31

The guide is very brief. It does not discuss or even fully display the entire deck. The Major Arcana is briefly explained (one or two sentences per card) and Thoth cards not clearly identified. The Minor Arcana is not detailed at all, multiple cards fanned across the page with 1 or 2 sentences for the entire suit.

Do not recommend.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Bluebeard's Bride: Tarot Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates