DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
100 Fantasy Biomes 4
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2021 09:32:10

It's hard to find anything new to say about this product that I didn't put in my review of the first entry in the series... https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product_reviews_info.php?&reviews_id=606888&products_id=362327

This brings the total number of locations in this series up to 400. I'm combining them all into a single table in Inspiration Pad Pro, but tweaking and mangling the results as a creativity kick start rather than reading the result straight, as described in the above review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Biomes 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review!
100 Fantasy Biomes 3
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2021 09:21:38

It's hard to find anything new to say about this product that I didn't put in my review of the first entry in the series... https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product_reviews_info.php?&reviews_id=606888&products_id=362327

Even more of the same, adding another hundred entries of location names and key features. Most useful as a spur to creativity if the DM deconstructs and twists the results rather than taking the result literally and exactly. See the above link for details.

I'm combining the entries in this series into a single table using Inspiration Pad Pro, the same as I did with the Sci-Fi Biomes series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Biomes 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review and I fully agree- anything and everything in the lists is up for change as needed. One of the obstacles with system generic is that sometimes, despite how generic you try to make it (without slipping into boring) there will be some things that are not fully compatible with every setting.
100 Fantasy Biomes 2
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2021 09:17:39

It's hard to find anything new to say about this product that I didn't put in my review of the first entry in the series... https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product_reviews_info.php?&reviews_id=606888&products_id=362327

Suffice to say this is more of the same and adds another hundred entries of location names and key features. Most useful as a spur to creativity if the DM deconstructs and twists the results rather than taking the result literally and exactly. See the above link for details.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Biomes 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review!
100 Seaside Warehouse Finds, Second Looting
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 19:38:47

100 Seaside Warehouse Finds by Dave Woodrum

I’m a sucker for a list of things. I just can’t resist. Anytime I see a “Big List of (Insert Your Idea Here) for Your Game” I just have to buy it.

100 Seaside Warehouse Finds, Second Looting is one of those lists.

If your ship full of pirates want to raid a plantation, or you just need building stacked with loot, Dave offers a good cross selection of cargo, gear, and other paraphernalia. From fancy clothes to trophies, weapons to wines this list has quite a selection.

~I’m Lord Skudley, and that’s my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Seaside Warehouse Finds, Second Looting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. :)
100 Fantasy Biomes
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2021 18:07:15

There's only so much you can say about a product like this. It's essentially just a list of 100 location names with a little bit of elaborating detail suitable for a fantasy or sword and sorcery setting. The names are a good mix of semi-random gobbledigook (Ghenuhi, Spukara) and compounds of English words (Gatesteed, Marshflint) and all are pronounceable although some are easier than others. The location details are all thematically appropriate to the location name, so you get mines in mountains instead of shipwrecks, which tells me these lists are curated rather than just completely randomly generated. The overall feel of the locations is very old-school sword and sorcery. There are several ways to use these tables, either in play or during adventure design. If you're starting with a completely blank slate, doing worldbuilding or adventure design with no existing setting in place, you can use them straight. Where has the evil Liche-King taken the kidnapped Prince? Why to the (roll) old abandoned Dwarven Vault in the Gatesteed Cliffs, of course. If you're trying to flesh out an existing map or setting, where not every result on the table will be appropriate, you can deconstruct the location result and use bits as you need them. If you're looking to name a river, it becomes the Gatesteed River, a hill becomes Gatesteed Hill (or Gatesteed Rise, or Gatesteed Tor etc etc). Conversely you can just use the detail bit to inspire adventures in existing locations. What's special about the Ironwood hills? Why it's (roll) an abode of an exiled vampire count. Finally you can use the table result as a jumping off point for a free association naming. For example if I'm looking to name a river and get "5 Bleeding Forest of Valknad (abode of an exiled vampire count)" and none of those elements feel suitable, I can pick out a couple of key words, swap them for synonyms, mangle them around and end up with something like Redcastle Brook.
Like any random table product, this is best used as inspiration for a GM's creativity rather than a hard and fast roll=result approach. The names and details in this product are nice and evocative and lend themself to this sort of inspirational trickery. The Alien Biomes series has become an invaluable part of my Sci-Fi/space opera GM toolkit and the Fantasy Biomes series has the potential to do the same for my D&D game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Biomes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the kind and lengthy review! I totally agree with and support the changing of details (notably the geographic feature/biome) as needed. As you noted, the names are a combination of different styles. Some folks prefer truly exotic sounding names while others prefer the compound types (aka Tavernlight, Gatesteed, Miserhaven, etc.). I've also decided to do a combination of naming elements to where most are name first and geographic type second (aka Bluefire Mountains) while others have the geographic feature first and then of named area (aka Valley of Drenmyre). Some of these I've also included a descriptive to the name (aka "Most Dreaded Valley of Drenmyre"- no, this isn't a place... yet). I also made it a point to make various types of points of interest throughout the list... some are brief and/or an indicator of a local resource (aka sapphire deposits) while others may be a sub location or encounter (aka city of Drunhan, lost stronghold of a lich king, wandering centaurs, etc.). I must admit that I've been surprised over the response I've received towards this series so far since yesterday afternoon. This first product was off to a slow start but I'm steadily getting orders for it and the second of the series. While I doubt that there will be as many as the Alien Biomes (the sci-fi older sister to this) I can say that there will likely be more than I originally anticipated for Fantasy Biomes. (and there might eventually be a snot nosed little brother product line that focuses on Mutant Wasteland map locations) PS- I love the fact that you are making good use of the Alien Biomes series. Please let me know if there are other areas of sci-fi/space opera type gaming that I need to be exploring. I never, ever intended to make as many of those as I did but they just keep selling (and honestly, as a publisher, that tells me to keep making them)... hopefully the same will continue with this series.
100 Places Of Fantasy Geography
by Party T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2021 17:38:55

Maybe I just read this wrong but its just a table of pre-made names for locations. I was looking for more of a toolkit involving geography tables and the likes. It was only a dollar but you can find name generators on the web that do much more than this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
100 Places Of Fantasy Geography
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Planetary Stations
by Brian V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2021 16:02:13

The examples rolls are, to be fair, genuinely typical of what you get from this resource. But, that's all you get: a list of fifty single-line descriptions of small outposts, in a single page. There's not even a bit of flavor text to flesh out the descriptive tags. It's fairly obvious that these lines of text were randomly generated from an algorithm, with a table of descriptive tags. You might be able to work out the algorithm and the table from the fifty examples given, but it's not provided directly, as you might expect.

I'm generally in favor of inexpensive tools to generate content on the fly. But this feels like the creator was deliberately ratcheting down to the bare minimum they thought they could provide in a product. The best feature is the cover art. That there's a second volume, with the same cover art, makes it feel almost like this is a deliberate insult. It could have as easily been a thousand stations as fifty. Or better, it could have been the algorithm and the table, a bit of flavor text, and a few examples.

It's hard to say that something that costs less than a dollar isn't worth the price, but I think that's the case here.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
50 Planetary Stations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minco (Deluxe Apocalypse Setting)
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2021 10:59:17

So I've recently begun getting into post apocalypse games and little products like this have been a life saver surprisingly theres so little post apocalypse support out there.

Minco comes with everything it needs but the only thing im dissapointed in was the line: Minco is the first in our upcoming delux apocalypse settings. well Im not sure what happened but that never happened



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Minco (Deluxe Apocalypse Setting)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalypse 100: Grocery Store Loot
by Rama T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2021 11:30:04

Hard to argue with the price, but I have also seen dollar content with more pages. It would be nice to say have pictures and maybe deeper background, but this is supposed to be a randomizer for loot scenarios. So for a quick reference, this is a great piece for any game in a post apocalyptic theme, it is hard to beat. In the end, the GM can adjust and change as need be.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse 100: Grocery Store Loot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Backpack Contents
by Rama T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2021 11:26:12

When you need some backpack contents that can fill in for any game. Not much to say, except it could probably have done with more pictures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Backpack Contents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exiles Of The Wicked Maze
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2020 01:02:55

Actually a fun little adventure for solo play. It was just as fun to teach to my 8 yr old son, he loved it too! Give it a shot! You can't go wrong! I definitely recommend doing the extra setup of rolling for your character's background.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exiles Of The Wicked Maze
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Factory Of The Androids [Modern/Near Dark Future Theme Music]
by Anna L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 09:27:27

i enjoy the theme music that is made by Fishwife games. The songs add to my ablity to storytell for my friends even online where they can't hear it. It adds to the mood, which sparks my creativity. It's easy to pick out tunes to help and it's also great to listen to when I am unwinding.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Factory Of The Androids [Modern/Near Dark Future Theme Music]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the kind review and your input on this track! I've been playing around with Making Factor of the Androids a micro-maze adventure, much the same way that I did with the track Rival Turf. I've not gotten the feel 100% yet though for the game itself.
"Factory" that is- lesson learned... don't try to use the phone to respond to a review. :D
100 Alien Biome Locations 2
by Arayana M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2020 22:05:58

Just like the first one in the series this combines a list of names with the incredably valuable handful of words to trigger the creative process.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Alien Biome Locations 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Alien Biome Locations
by Arayana M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2020 22:02:16

It's exactly what it says: 100 locations with an alien sounding name and just enough detail to get the imagination going. It really is amazing how much those 3-4 words turn a name from a chore to fill out into a spark for the imagination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Alien Biome Locations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Things To Discover And Take In A Near Future Wasteland
by Mason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2019 21:59:39

For what I was using this for it was absolutely perfect I plan on buying the second one as well. A good list to have on hand incase you can't think of anything in the moment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Things To Discover And Take In A Near Future Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 201 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates