DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Temple of Dagon (PF)
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 16:19:23

Temple of Dagon (PF1) by Necromancer Games

I am currently running a set of published modules for Pathfinder that take place in a "Lost Atlantis" kind of space. I thought a nice Temple of Dagon would make for a decent side event. So when it released, I tore through it to mine for ideas.

This is a pretty good answer to my desire for a side trek, but the module itself has a really big NPC-shaped hole in it.

The temple itself is a well populated old-school-influenced crawl. There's a good variety of by-the-book and custom-stat occupants to keep players on their toes. There's no "flow" to the temple, however. I need to state that this is both a good point and a bad one. There is the very real possibility that players will find their way into the more capstone encounters in the temple very quickly. But then, why do high priests and visiting divine emissaries always wait in the room farthest from the entrance? Well they shouldn't, so that's what I mean about the positive. There's also good advice about how the temple occupants ought to deal with an incursion by adventurers, so the big bad shouldn't sit in a room waiting for the climax anyway. Approve.

In addition to the eponymous temple, there are a handful of sandbox encounters, a minidungeon that's really more of an extended single encounter, and references to a few towns that are meant to set up the reason for the trip to the temple.

One of the sandbox encounters is a memorable set-piece. The others are simple, but effective.

The minidungeon is nothing that will stick with me or my players. I gather it is meant for the PCs to take over and use as a staging ground from which to assault the evil temple, evoking memories of a certain gatehouse in a certain classic module, but I doubt players will likely consider it for such without some help.

And the setup material... Well, I'm pretty happy I don't need it. The PCs are in a town, looking for work, when a mysterious stranger offers to send them on a sea voyage to another town to explore a ruined temple near there. Ok... But there's a genie child attached to this who is a strictly non-combatant loot-transport... and even though we've already got a job when we arrive in B town there's a proclamation (player handout! Me likee!) about a pirate bounty we're supposed to follow up on? Oh well, after that, there's no mention of which NPCs (if any) count against this bounty, so we appear to be done with it. I'm not really clear...

And then there's Namara... Or is there? NPC Namara is apparently the hook that takes us to that minidungeon. Thing is, there's no indication of who/what she is! There's a rumour about merfolk having visited town "several weeks ago". However the rest of the paragraph seems to imply we're talking to the merfolk since "They can serve as guides to the temple and [...] identify the [minidungeon]. They [...] can introduce the characters to Namara. The merfolk avoid combat and hastily retreat if threatened or attacked." So, I'm ready if my PCs attack the merfolk who were here several weeks ago and are offering to be guides... Ok, well at least I now have the name Namara...

Skip to the next mention of her where "while gathering information in town, the PCs encounter Namara." What's Namara? I don't know. She just tells them about the minidungeon. Oh and she lets slip that she's 800 years old. And then she gets mentioned only one more time, when we're pointed to the stat block of a 4th level half-elf, in case we need her stats... WTF. The genie boy who takes all my loot away gets a sidebar and an entire "ledger" handout page in the book, but Namara gets nothing.

Ultimately, I bought the Temple of Dagon, I got the Temple of Dagon, and my PCs are going to find themselves visiting the Temple of Dagon, so I am happy. But the stuff that pads this out to 30 pages... I can do without. I'd much rather have had a map of room T-7 (A pretty critical room in the Temple!) than poorly executed quest hooks, very poorly defined NPCs, and a forgetable mini dungeon.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of Dagon (PF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hall of the Rainbow Mage
by Roy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2021 12:29:42

I remember GMing this way back when and my players had a blast. I had adapted a lot of it for a homebrew world and despite a lot of the really, really wacko stuff it was fun and extremely memorable. The dungeons had a real old-school feel of random encounter placement and can easily raise a lot of "why is this even here?" questions if players aren't into it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hall of the Rainbow Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mother of All Encounter Tables
by Jacob K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2021 20:29:59

This could use better sectioning and bookmarks for usability. I've split it up into several separate PDFs to make it easier to flip back and forth between the sections. And there's no good reference for where you might find the more obscure monsters, for any edition of D&D or OSR variant. Still pretty useful, though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Mother of All Encounter Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Crucible of Freya
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2020 16:03:33

A great, old-school D&D adventure that pairs well with Rappan Athuk or works well as a standalone adventure.

While it is perhaps a little too difficult for a first level party, there's plenty of good fodder in there from which you can come up with your own ideal balance. I've run this in both Pathfinder (as written) and in my current D&D 5e game (heavily modified for an Oriental setting) and it has always left players satisfied. The siege on the keep is a blast to run, and there are plenty of terrific plot hooks floating around that your players can chase across the forests.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shades of Gray
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2019 19:35:42

I bought this on a whim a number of years ago but never got around to using it until last year when my niece asked me if I could run a 5E campaign (we are still playing in it as we can only get togethdr every 2 to even 3 months over a weekend). So I finally dusted this off but it wasn't long into my preparation time that I came to the conclusion it probably wasn't what I hoped it would be. I think it's strongest aspect is that you can cut and paste what you find works and leave the rest alone; and I had to leave a lot untouched. Basically I used the very early part as the major hook and I am utilizing the main plot but I found myself having add a great deal of my own ideas. Here is what my opinion is concerning this product with the understanding that DM's are all different. YMMV.

  1. The edititors needed an editor. Seriously the amount of minutea describing the plot and supporting details is very burdensome. It often felt like I was reading one long run on sentence. In can get very sloppy in layout. Which brings me to...
  2. The maps are very poorly placed. I have one other Necromancer PDF and in that one all maps are at the end for the DM's convience. But in Shades of Gray many of the maps are in the body itself and often only a third in size of a standard 11x5 inche sheet of paper.
  3. Since it is 3/3.5 you have to do a lot of conversion and I understood this when I bought it but I didn't do enough research because Necromancer set it in their own world and the amount of modifying to make it work was a significant undertaking.

This may very well work for you. But as you can tell not so much for me. Therefore I can't really endorse this module.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shades of Gray
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rappan Athuk 1: The Upper Levels
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 19:52:12

I loved the text and the drawings but I gave it a 3 out of 5 because the maps were so poorly done. They are blurry and for the most part useless. Thats to bad too because I am really looking forward to running my friends thru this adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rappan Athuk 1: The Upper Levels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tome of Artifacts
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 18:21:36

I'd like to start off by saying I'm a huge fan of artifacts so this will be slightly biased towards this book.

What is an artifact within the fantasy universe? It's more than some super cool magic item that can sometimes break the campaign in the wrong hands. A proper artifact to me needs a story behind it; a soul so to speak. Most artifacts I have come across do not have that depth, but this book seeks to rectify that and does so splendidly.

All totalled there is 264 pages chocked full of the artifacts with a class and random artifact creation at the bottom. To be honest I don't know how useful the random artifact creation is or the class, but to focus on those two items would to see a few flecks of silver in a gold mine in my humble opinion. Every one of those artifacts is detailed in a way I absolutely love. Each of them has a rich history linked to their creation and a drawback to owning and using them. There are a variety of artifacts which are a healthy mixture of thoroughly good, indellably evil, and totally neutral artifacts. Each artifact seems to vary in power depending on their background and in a few cases if other pieces of the artifacts or other conditions are met. Each artifact has a way to destroy it if the campaign calls for it to be desroyed (though a few artifacts are repaired instead of destroyed). Finally each artifact has a section on introducing it into the campaign which I appreciate more than anything.

The only thing I don't understand as well as I'd like at this time is the random artifact generator. It's not that its unnecessary or hard to use as much as I said I don't understand it. To me designing an artifact should be deliberate and controlled. I don't like using a random generator for it. That being said even in that I love some of the ideas for some of the unorthidox artifact possibilities.

The only other thing I don't like as well is the class contained within. While it's not bad itself I don't like the concept. But this is just a personal opinion really.

To tell you the truth I can't begin to expound on the myraid of reasons why I love this book. It's one of those books if I could rate higher I would. In the end my question isn't how do I use the artifacts within the books it's more just finding that right campaign to put them in. And boy do I have so many campaigns to plan thanks to this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tome of Horrors Revised
by Carl V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2017 12:34:47

This very large monster book is great if you're looking for quirky 3.5 monsters or if you miss some of the odd 1E and 2E monsters. It has a wealth of unusual low-CR monsters for low-level adventures. Also, daemons, demodands, demons, and devils are well-represented. If you want more traditional, hack-and-slash monsters, you might be disappointed. Instead, this book provides strange monsters that can inspire more creative encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Horrors Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tome of Horrors Revised
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 01:06:46

An excellent call back, and wonderfully updated, this tome brings you many creatures and beasts. A testament to this book is its heavy use by Pathfinder in their early days to vary encounters and menace players by including these dastardly foes. If you like monsters, and you play some variant of 3rd edition D&D (including Pathfinder), you owe it to yourself to pick up this book and see all of the interesting and vile creatures within. It is a perfect blend of classic and modern sensibilities, which is something that Necromancer Games is well known for.

5 out of 5 Stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Kingdoms: Mesopotamia
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 15:15:54

Quite the disappointment. I'd heard good things about this as a setting, but it's only 1/4th poorly-edited setting material, with its game rules not power-balanced anywhere near where a sensible or typical 3.5 campaign would be (in my view). One canonically bad edit: the map doesn't contain half the cities described, and half the cities on the map aren't described. Two regions are given random encounter tables - but why? Again, one of them isn't even labeled on the map, although its general vicinity is alluded to in the text. Why those regions and not any of the many others? The book is heinously inconsistent; in just three paragraphs about the legal systems of Mesopotamia it manages to completely contradict itself. Editing matters!

The remaining 3/4ths is an adventure which at least tries to lay out a sandbox. It fails for classical 3e statblock bloat reasons. For example, the nominal homebase gets one page of description. The faction most commonly met there, who presumably will be the source of most social interactions, still has more space allocated to statblocks and combat statistics than description and hooks. The next faction, the Brotherhood of Kalab, gets three pages: half a page of art, a third of a page of description, a quarter-page of adventure hooks, and 2 pages of detailed combat statistics.

Any setting influenced by the real world that doesn't provide a bibliography or suggested readings loses a star in my book, dropping this from POOR to outright BAD. They allude to so many things in their setting, but leave me to start from scratch when I want to better understand the history to bring them into my campaign.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Kingdoms: Mesopotamia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost City of Barakus
by Jesse H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2015 02:41:57

Perfect. I tried buying this from Frog God games, received a pdf file that couldn't be opened, then emailed them twice for a refund or replacement. Nothing. Bought this again from a second (forgotten) source only to find that Dropbox and nook couldn't find the chapter pages. How can I run such a finely detailed adventure without being able to quickly flip from page to page? Also, I couldn't select the text to copy the stats for NPCs, monsters, etc... for reference during the encounters. Out of sheer desperation, I bought this YET AGAIN right here. Everything is perfect. I am so relieved and grateful. Hence my positive review. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost City of Barakus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mother of All Treasure Tables
by Stephane R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2013 01:51:48

My point of view: Where are the rules that have been used to make that pre-tired treasured, I want that rules. I dislike this book but it’s the best pre-tired treasured book than an ever seen.

Bad point: This is absolutely not a treasure table than de tilt of the book says it, that’s pre-tired treasured agreement with description.

Good point: Good treasure with good description, usable in many situations. Classified by -10 po / 50po / 100 / 500 / 1000 / 5000 / 10 000 / 30 000 / 50 000 / 100 000 and + So usable in many moment.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Mother of All Treasure Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mother of All Encounter Tables
by Stephane R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2013 01:36:22

I found this book very useful for my party. Good point for my: This is exactly why we can think of it, big encounter table. Classified by climate and terrain, it is a point of view that I appreciate. That is not classified by levels, why player should always fall on monsters of their levels. I love this idea. The Nonmonster Encounters are a very great idea.

Bad point: The Caravan tables are not ended, my player can barter with a merchant of beer, but for example, the weapons Caravan, we did not know what type of weapons he have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mother of All Encounter Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DM's Library Package
by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2013 09:01:48

Can't believe they still never fixed the "mother of all encounter tables" that I mentioned in my previous review, and even personally emailed them about the errors. They've got various numbering errors. Such as the table that lists a roll as 095-034. Clearly it was supposed to be 095-134. However the next encounter line is 035 and it continues on that way up to the 000. So if you roll anything between 035 and 095 (001-1000) then there are multiple results. Fix/update this. After all this time and multiple notices that this happened, quit ignoring it and fix it, and update it!!!!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DM's Library Package
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Crucible of Freya
by Allan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2013 15:20:25

This is an outstanding module, simple and fun to run. The web enhancements make it an even better value (and at $3.50 I feel like I'm a thief!) The PDF is fantastic. Despite earlier comments, I had no issues with the PDF. I use Preview on my mac and all the text is clear and easy to read, even the text in the gray boxes. Don't let earlier comments on the quality of the PDF affect your buying decision. This is a great product and a great PDF!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 81 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates