DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Vaesen - Hanstholm Lighthouse - An Alternative Base
by Gleb A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2021 10:08:12

Fits in well with the established lore. It's a matter of opinion, but I think a lighthouse makes for a pretty thematic base. And if needed, many of the upgrades would work with the default base.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Hanstholm Lighthouse - An Alternative Base
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Lands: Crypt of the Mellified Mage
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2021 15:35:48

Unlike the uniformly excellent Spire of Quetzel, I found the adventures in this collection lacking, which was frustrating given their interesting concepts. I was really prepared to love the Crypt of the Mellified Mage but found myself frustrated by a map that doesn't match the text in half a dozen or more places. Also, its Events section is a simple list of encounters rather than the handful of plot ideas that other Forbidden Lands adventure sites offer. The second site, the Firing Pit of Llao-Yutuy, suffers the same sort of issues, except that this map has several locations misnumbered or unnumbered. The main issue is that the usual Events section does a lot to explain the agendas of the characters within and turn simple description into plot. Without that, the site is lifeless. Between that lack of guidance and the poor maps, these two sites aren't terribly usable. Temple of the Six-Limbed Lord, on the other hand, has a proper Events section and a functional map but suffers a bit from just being goofy. The site and its characters seem less like people and more like a series of jokes overstaying their welcome. I can't see myself seriously using this site in a campaign, which is a shame because there are some good ideas here and it is ambitious. The last "site" is more a toolkit to build your own dream-realm populated by aspects of a dead mage. There is no map (but locations are listed), the mage in question is meant to be designed by the gamemaster with the help of a series of tables, and the events and locations are mostly just a series of roleplaying prompts and suggestions. While I appreciate what the author is trying to do, I really would have preferred a pre-built scenario with details already supplied. The core books provide plenty of material for me to build my own sites, I bought this book to get places I could drop into a game with a minimum of work. Overall, I was disappointed. Most of the material I've purchased for Forbidden Lands has been top notch and this just isn't up to that standard.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Lands: Crypt of the Mellified Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Lands: Raven's Purge
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2021 14:59:49

Given how closely this ties with the items and characters in the main book, it counts as a companion volume the further details its central characters and events. In addition, it presents a rough plotline centered around a multi-part elf MacGuffin that offers a lot of flexibility in how things progress. While I haven't run it yet, as a seasoned gamemaster I can easily see how the sites and events of the book flow naturally from the sort of adventuring the game is based on. There is less reliance on tropes like being hired or set on a quest by some important figure and more on the characters discovering things one piece at a time until they are swept up into events. I am really impressed with this kind of campaign design, it really serves well for "open world" gameplay. As for the plot itself, it ties to the history of the region and its key players and allows the characters to really influence the future of the realm. I'm looking forward to running this when my current campaign comes to an end.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Lands: Raven's Purge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Lands: The Spire of Quetzel
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2021 14:52:34

Four excellent adventure sites for the Forbidden Lands with different feels but all contain compelling characters, interesting concepts, and several different ways events can develop. In addition, despite having different authors, the format is consistent, which makes it very easy to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Lands: The Spire of Quetzel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Lands Reference Sheet
by Kenny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2021 20:54:39

Love the sheet, but I usually have it open in Adobe PDF reader and with the title page, I cannot see both of the reference sheets at once. If there was no cover, or a way to see both reference pages at once, it would be perfect! Author edited the PDF to make all my dreams come true. 5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Lands Reference Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey Kenny. What a great suggestion. Ask and ye shall receive. I've uploaded a 3rd PDF that is only two pages. Enjoy!
Fear the Evenfall - A Vaesen Mystery
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2021 20:49:12

Fear the Evenfall – a Vaesen Mystery (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG) is a fun adventure for the Vaesen Nordic Horror RPG . It is an investigative adventure that takes place in Sweden in the year 1893. The RPG system I used was Wicked Pacts a Modern-day Game of Magic (DriveThruRPG). I did use the Solo Investigator’s Handbook to solo this 35 page adventure. The adventure includes 3 maps, 47 NPCs, 44 possible clues (I found 17 of them), and six locations to explore. I used the six first level characters that are included in Wicked Pacts (warlock, demon hunter, grunt, shadow, seer, and scribe). For my playthrough there was only one major battle and it was of a spiritual/magical/psychic nature (the fifth evening). On the sixth evening a ritual was performed and the “ghost” was taken care of. Roderick the scribe wanted to do library research early in the adventure, but they made him wait until the evening of day four. I felt sorry for him. So, if you like to investigate, this is for you. It would not be hard to change this to a Call of Cthulhu adventure. Good luck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear the Evenfall - A Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 06:31:15

So Alien was my gateway drug into the Year Zero Engine Universe and importantly the game that inspired me to get back into gaming. It was and continues to be an excellent game with amazing art and a set of mechanics that are perfectly tuned to the game setting. I cannot recommend this book any more highly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Djachroum and the Rimward Reach
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 06:24:47

Ok this is a bloody excellent translation of the original material and opens up a whole space for regular play by a team of interested players. Its also quite useful if you are playing through the emessiary lost campaign under the official free league banner as well this region is given some prominenance at the end of the second book (no spoilers will be provided). In addition the file contains the original art from Free League and makes available for the first time a large amount of Swedish original material for use by English Speakers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Djachroum and the Rimward Reach
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mörk Borg English
by Robert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 20:05:13

It's a good wee game while containing a lot of great flavour but there's not a lot of substance to get your teeth into.

However, imo, I don't think it's a good as everone has cracked it up to be. YMMV of course!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coriolis - The Third Horizon Core Book
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2021 09:00:37

Angel's Citadel just reviewed this product. You can check out our thoughts here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/06/11/review-coriolis/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis - The Third Horizon Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Coriolis Calendar
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:37:42

Ok so this is just a beautiful book, I am using the calendar in my game and its perfect for use in working through the very complex timeline of the core modules for Coriolis. Every one of the Icon's is given a royal treatment and the images alone make the book worth buying. I am also a fan of the story for each of the Icons, they add colour to the game and give the Scheherazade treatment to each of the Icons, making them come alive. I can recommend this book enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coriolis Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:33:19

So I liked the colour this product provides and for getting into character its often worth picking up a few words here and there. Its very short but then its less than a cup of coffee so the balance for me is there. It'll save you an amount of work looking up phrases in Arabic Dictionaries and give you a few choice words to say.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coriols: Artifacts & Faction Tech
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:49:52

I will be honest, I was hoping for more re the factions, covering the thematic elements of every faction and in particular how the tech they develop aligns with their fundamental beliefs, for instance I would have liked to have seen tech from the Nomads as they have a strong link to the second horizion. Having said that its a nice piece of work from the Free League Stable, they really know how to present thier information and deliver a beautiful product overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriols: Artifacts & Faction Tech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Coriolis Planetarium: The Miran Chain
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:42:20

The Planetarium is one of those very useful tools for a GM with a thousand things to do everyday. It provides a concise background to every system in the Miran Chain, famous for Zalos, Odacon and of course Mira itself, but with many poorly or nor described at all systems. For a party who have an exploration or mercantile bent this resource allows the gm to quickly describe entire systems in some detail and gives a number of launching points for the imagination of flower and grow. Each planet in every system has a small image, each system is visualised by sun allowing you to accurately depict the entire system in a moment. All of the information could be provided to the players ahead of time (except for the story leads embedded in system description), giving the party access to plot their own path for a more freeform style game.

Overall a really good product and a great companion for the Coriolis Atlas (especially the community sourced one) filling in all of the detail of the less well understood systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coriolis Planetarium: The Miran Chain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sáivu - A Vaesen Mystery
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:09:11

Ok I am a sucker for an interesting setting and the conflict that arises between cultures, which is what is so great about Vaesen. I really appreciated the detail that Niclas has established for the indigenous inhabitants of the area and the inclusion of their cultural beliefs in the game. The plot of the adventure is a solid Industrialisation versus local beliefs tale, with good characters and some complexity of motivations on behalf of both groups in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sáivu - A Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 214 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates