DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
QUEERZ! TTRPG Demo Game
by Ron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2021 07:04:36

This is a Powerrangers RPG without the license. And to hide that fact they replace good vs evil with gay vs ignorantl Yep ... you read that right. Like the original sin in Christian religion where everyone is seen as in need of absolution because of something that happened in the before times. In this game everyone is ignorant to some degree and only the forces of 'good' can cleanse them of their 'evil'/ 'ignorance'.

I've never read a game that tried to insult its potential audience as this one. No one ever had to write how a game about elves could be played by humans. And the few that were aware that they targeted a difficult subject ... did so without being a dick about it.

This is propaganda posing as a game that screams "to be gay is to be flaming like all the bad gay stereotypes in all the media"

So if you like your gays to be flaming then this is the game for you. If you think that the alphabet-soup people are just like you and me ... then this is not meant for you. Because instead you get insulted for not being gay enough to participate in the team. You get to be an 'ally'. Someone who doesn't get to have the cool powers that the alfabet soup team members of QUEERZ get to use.

But hey ... let's forget the setting and look at the rest. The art is perfect for a flashy gay superhero cliche propaganda leaflet with a game attached.

The rules ? It's 'powered by the apocalypse' so everything is dripping in theme. This is usually a good thing, because games with this system thrive by making everything very thematic. The problem is that it creates weird rules, because in order to 'fix' things you have to 'care' for it, which is typical of thematic PbtA games that try to have all of their cake and eat it. PbtA variants work best when they are aware of their limitations and avoid the need for moves that don't reflect the theme.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
QUEERZ! TTRPG Demo Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King of the Ring - A City of Mist Case
by joe z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 14:54:54

This is a very well made guide, and it shows. My players tend to shoot first and ask questions later but this really made them think about the decisions they were making and force them to come up with creative solutions. And when combats did occur the encounters were not only challenging, but amusing. (No spoilers but Pigsy two thumbs up)

5/5 would run this again



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King of the Ring - A City of Mist Case
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the kind words! Glad you liked Pigsy!
City of Mist: MC Toolkit
by Patryk A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2021 13:27:51

DISCLAIMER/BIAS/EXPERIENCE: Backer of City of Mist kickstarters. Leaving this review after publisher's request issued to KS backers. I have run one longish CoM campaign, currently running my second CoM campaign. I assume you're familiar with the basic premises of City of Mist - if you're not, read the blurbs, or better, get a starter set. NOTE: Cultural appropriation potential warning - this book is about mythoi coming back to life in a noir world. This may be a touchy thing, so GMs are advised to do their research before the game and/or reach certain level of understanding with their players.

By the way of introducing you to MC TOOLKIT, this is a gamemaster's book (NOTE: Gamemaster = Master of Ceremonies, or MC), so it expands on the basic rules, provides resources for fleshing out the setting and establishes routines specific for MC role. It also sports great layout, comic book art, great one-page summaries and an adventure. NOTE: You need PLAYER'S GUIDE for player-facing lowdown of the rules, to create characters, and building groups, evolving (escalating?) stuff and cinematographic plays. It's also a great primer on Apocalypse World mechanics. I would also recommend getting a starter set for great ready-to-run characters, yet another adventure, and beautiful handouts.

MC TOOLKIT, Table of Contents

The Master of Ceremonies - Basics of the basics, or how to read the book.

  • 8 pages

Word on the Street - Archetypical locales and locals in a city noir genre. No stats yet, it is just a bunch of short writeups of places and people. If your characters make a random stop to buy e-cigs, you can just crack open the book, say THE OLD QUARTER, read THE COBBLED STREET aloud (skipping MC-only stuff), and if the things are going slow, have the PCs meet a wounded old man complaining about thieves, who just took his books.

  • 42 pages

Behind the Scenes - A comic, a Quick Reference Sheet, a guide on running the session zero, how to use MC moves, narrating stuff and adjusting challenge level. Then it's Writing a Case (check the HIGHLIGHTS below), and then turning cases into a series.

  • 54 pages

This is my City! - Another comic, another Quick Reference Sheet, and everything you need to know about spectrums (how to damage a character), dangers (those who damage the characters), and avatars (you also get four masterminds, unique 5-star dangers that are movers and shakers to drop into your setting).

  • 99 pages

Appendices - Various resources (dangers get ratings) with page numbers. For example: House Fire is 2-star danger on page 151. Samuel Valtierra (Baron Samedi) is 5-star danger on page 160. Also included: list of backers, printouts for MC tracking sheets.

  • 10 pages

Gambling with Death - An adventure that is NOT recommended for novice players and MCs. The narrative is slightly disjointed and may be difficult to follow by not-yet-invested-in-story characters. Also there are multiple three star dangers - expect fatalities if the characters are not careful.

  • 19 pages

Maps - Useful for running scenes.

  • 4 pages

MC TOOLKIT, HIGHLIGHTS

WRITING A CASE, to me, is probably the best ever section on constructing puzzles for the PCs to unravel. It also ties into Investigate move in a way that makes running mystery scenarios such a pleasure. Here's is a short explanation.

A case is like an iceberg: visible tip (depth 0), depth 1, depth 2, ...

  • the visible tip is a list of hooks that the characters look into or encounter.
  • the depths are layered lists of locations or scenes, to which characters gain access after investigating connected corresponding items from upper layers.
  • the characters "move" between these by resolving scenes or gaining clues from locations.
  • at the bottom there is a final confrontation or a revelation.
  • since this is an Apocalypse World-inspired game, new connections may be formed or further challenges added on a fly via devil's bargains or success with complications mechanics.

While there are many ways the PCs may proceed forward, the most common way is for a character to make an Investigate move:

  • A player declares an action and what power tags (supernatural or mundane) are used to support the action. The number of tags (minus penalties) used is the POWER rating for the move.
  • If successful, a player gets to ask number of questions equal to POWER rating.
  • Based on the POWER rating, result of a roll (fuzzy, partial, compromise, full success) and the tags used, an MC presents answers. A computer jockey hacking into a mobile will get different presentation from a veteran policewoman interrogating a witness, from a possessed shopkeeper immigrant from Tibet conferring with local spiritual entities, from a destitute satanic sax hobo player who just plays and listens to people talking, from a recently released convict with a hook for his and terrifying violence just bubbling under calm demeanor [a cast of characters from my current campaign].
  • The answers unlock stuff from current and lower depths, eventually allowing to reach the solution.

QUICK REFERENCE SHEETS, just print them out. These are simply great for remembering all little bits you should be aware of.

GAMBLING WITH DEATH - the adventure is interesting, but it needs work to fit your narrative. Also:

  • At some point the characters may feel overwhelmed by the opposition and subsequently proceed to abandon the case. To avoid this, I would recommend constructing strong motivations for PCs.
  • Three-star dangers apply statuses that could wipe POWER totals (and there are four of them, with possible more joining the case). Also, the three-star dangers are not dumb - they are likely to employ guards.

In my case, the chief adversary of the adventure is going to wrong one of the PCs, so, when an opportunity presents itself, they will try to take advantage to get a little payback, only to realize that innocent people are getting involved.

MC TOOLKIT, FINAL THOUGHTS

A vitally important addition to the library of a City of Mist fan. If you have the big book already, at least get a PDF for references and maps. The case included can be mined for resources or developed into a full campaign (again, three-star dangers are complex - so proceed with caution, and use them as memorable villains). The WRITING A CASE part can be used for any mystery scenario under any system.

Five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: MC Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist Case: Carnival of Machines
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2021 17:07:35

Absolutely brilliant. The utterly wild combination of Rifts is my favorite part of City of Rifts, and this one doesn't hesitate for a moment before slamming together utterly incompatible mythologies. Plus, the abandoned carnival may seem cliche when it comes to horror movies, but how often do you actually see one in a tabletop RPG? Great stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Case: Carnival of Machines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist: Player's Guide
by Terry R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2021 23:43:16

City of Mist is a beautiful game that I can't wait to have a second edition.

Criticism:

  • The core conceit of City of Mist is that you're in a noir giant city (or neon noir or neo noir or whatever version of noir you want) with a fair bit of mystery but the tone doesn't match. The mechanics do not back up this setting and the entire idea of "group noir" is hard to pull off and is not done here.
  • Players have the ability to help and hinder but no real incentives in doing such.
  • There's constant judgment calls on how many tags can apply and making everything a tag call or a juice call makes the rolls remarkably dull.
  • The power advances offered and small enough to want to keep track of but not interesting enough to want to remember to do advancement.
  • The tag burn and downtime mechanics will vary widely based on how often your group meets and the average length of the setting.
  • The language of film is used but without the step of training the reader how to think like one is in a movie. The idea of a "shot" is straight forward but with the exception of the credits and this framing this notion is not used which makes me wish it hadn't been included. It also demands players have a common cinematic language which won't exist for most people without a large shared background.
  • The nature of the city is too vague which would theoretically make it sandboxy but simply makes it uninteresting.
  • There is no sense of scale to the stories.
  • The milquetoast system used to coming up with various tracks that be habilitated or used are too generic and prove for unsatisfying encounters whether it be combat, wearing down someone to confess or social intrigue.
  • The system manages to take the notion PBtA and add enough cruft to it to make it no longer the remarkably sleek core of PBtA and the move names don't serve to be sufficiently evocative to inform you how to play.

Praises:

  • It is quite pretty.
  • The idea of tags for all things is kind of interesting but is not there yet. It takes the notion of Aspects from Fate and makes them less interesting while creating something a little more variable for what PBtA wants you to roll.
  • That one can be a rift of anything is a fine idea but there's not real way to pin it down which is unsatisfying.

The game is too diffuse. It needed to focus on noir or it needed to go towards a more generic system. As it lay now puts it somewhere that I just find meh.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your honest feedback. Like in any game, especially being our debut game, there are things that should be improved and it's good to be reminded of that. Having said that, sometimes a game just isn't for you, and it sounds like this is the case. Many of the points you criticized are actually what most fans of City of Mist say they love about the game, like its narrative focus, flexible setting, cinematic flair, conditions, character progress, etc. It boils down to taste and preferred gameplay style. We are happy to refund your purchase.
City of Mist Case: Broken Glass
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2020 23:41:28

Content warning: a significant portion of this case involves a psychiatric hospital and the involuntary commitment of a number of people, potentially including the PCs, by malicious and abusive mental health professionals.

Maybe I should've guessed that from the fact that therapists were the secret bad guys in the last two cases. Maybe not. Either way, now you know and can make an informed decision.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Case: Broken Glass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your feedback, Patrick, and for helping to clarify this point to others. Please note that the product description explicitly describes the case as pitting the PCs against "the villain’s operation, a twisted mental health organization." We apologize if the content caused any inconvenience and are happy to refund your purchase. If you have suggestions to how we can improve, please reply here.
City of Mist Case: Killing Her Softly
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2020 14:55:25

Excellent! Complex, plenty of red herrings, some good places for the PCs to screw up and shut off leads without shutting out the rest of the story. Shame the title of the piece is basically a dead giveaway of the plot, but that's hardly the end of the world. Also the absolute randomness of the Rifts in this is hilarious, in my opinion.

Oh! And disability representation! Man, everything about that character was great. Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Case: Killing Her Softly
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist Case: Demons in Cross End
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2020 14:51:28

Good stuff! Good Halloween themed case. It's worth noting that if the players go at things in a certain order, one has to awkwardly withhold certain characters until later. That said, I don't know how you'd build around that, considering the incredibly obvious nature of the action ... eh. Either way, four stars. Good stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Case: Demons in Cross End
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist Case: V is for Going Viral
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2020 14:49:03

A good case, although some elements are easy to overlook. I had to wing it as far as the behavior of teenagers who were already involved, because there's no real guidance to exactly what that's about. But it's good.

STG, I'm taking off an entire star for that title. V is not, in fact, for Going anything. G is for Going something, V is for Viral. GTFO.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Case: V is for Going Viral
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist: Player's Guide
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2020 00:54:04

This is a really great game. It's the one good part of Fate grafted onto the PBtA system and it works perfectly. Honestly this might be my new model for future games, too. It will accommodate any setting that involves magic with basically no changes.

As for the setting, I love the glitzy surface level of it but I'm actually reluctant to dig any deeper. There's a lot going on in the lore expansion books but ... I just don't care? I don't actually want to know, and I say that as a Forever GM. We just play in a Dark City-style Quantum 80s where the cars have fins, everyone wears a trenchcoat, and there's Facebook, but no cell phones. The city is all there is and who cares about the rest?

Really, though, this book is all you need to play the game. There may be good stuff in the others, but they are optional. I recommend trying this out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist: Soundtrack
by Riccardo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2020 10:41:17

I would not recommend such product. The audios are too short (around 5 minutes each) and are not formatted in a way to put them in a continous loop in order to create the proper atmosphere. SO, this is not really a "Soundtrack" for sessions, I would say.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist: All-Seeing Eye Investigations Starter Set
by Ignacio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2020 19:08:29

I love this starter, its everything a quickstart sould be. Quick to the point and easy to get into. I run this on comic stores for new players and noone ever has a problem with adventure or the motivation of the PCs.

Its the standard by which I judge all other quickstarts/jumpstarts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: All-Seeing Eye Investigations Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist: All-Seeing Eye Investigations Starter Set
by Colin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2020 03:50:41

Wow...where to start? I backed the original City of Mist Kickstarter, and I'm always amazed at how every new product release improves on the gameplay and universe presented in this simple elegant system. Here, you'll see classic pulp noir tropes rubbing shoulders with mythological titans, old gods, fairytale characters brought to often-grim life and a myriad of stories, cases and mysteries waiting to be unravelled. There is no linear plot progression; players solve cases at their own pace, following up on the leads that interest them, meaning that MCs (the GM analog) can recycle unused or untouched ideas back into later stories.

As for gameplay, well...anyone familiar with any PbtA game will be on familiar turf here, but City of Mist approaches the system with a fast & loose interpretation that allows for critical thinking and cunning application of abilities. All in all, there should never be a situation where a player feels they have nothing to contribute to events, and the level of personal agency granted to players over their skills is a refreshing twist.

This new starter set is a perfect drop-in point for anyone who has been interested in City of Mist but is unsure where to begin. The artwork is gorgeous throughout, evoking the feel of a genuinely mysterious noir setting, and the rules presented offer players a 'learn-as-you-play' experience that unfolds cinematically, while remembering that you're new. Done right, nobody should feel overwhelmed, and everybody should have something to bring to the case.

In summary, City of Mist is a game that defies attempts to explain it: The play's the thing, and playing this game should be all the explanation you need as to why I consider it a modern masterpiece of RPG writing. Amit Moshe has created a beautiful, haunting, scary and deep sandbox for players and GMs to sift through, and the Starter Set is the ideal tool to begin your journey. But don't take my word for it. Punish that 'Add to Cart' button and find out why you should be playing this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Core Book
by Daniel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2019 00:28:55

Cat's full review HERE

It’s an ordinary day, and you are an ordinary person. Until something happens and you realize you are, in fact, not an ordinary person. This moment, this awakening, will change everything for you. And naturally, you probably have some questions. The good news is there are more people like you out there. The bad news is that they don’t have the answers yet either. Team up together and start investigating in City of Mist from Son of Oak Game Studio (distributed by Modiphius).

City of Mist is a roleplaying game where players take on the role of Rifts—ordinary individuals that are simultaneously a powerful mythical entity. The exact nature of this entity, or Mythos, is largely a mystery to your character, and that mystery is where the journey begins. Your efforts to uncover answers will be thwarted by the very force that kept you in the dark for so long: The Mist. The Mist is what keeps the City seemingly ordinary. Sleepers, those who have not awakened to a Mythos, will forget or excuse any legendary abilities they come into contact with. Players will be balancing their Mythos with their normal lives or Logos. When your character goes through something major, you have the choice to turn it into a Moment of Evolution. This is a player character choice, not the choice of the Master of Ceremonies (MC).

This all works through the Themes that form the basis of a character’s identity. Some of these are Mythos, others are Logos. A Moment of Evolution turns one into the other. If at any point all of a player’s Mythos has become Logos, they become a Sleeper again. The opposite, all Mythos and no Logos, turns a character into an Avatar, completely at the whims of whatever force is inside them.

This focus on character choice is a driving factor in City of Mist. There are rules, of course. Players have eight core actions they can take, though even these emphasize the importance of choice. The Take the Risk action lets players attempt something outrageous, giving fate the chance to let them succeed. Failure results in a consequence, and this is when the MC gets to make their own choices.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Mist: All-Seeing Eye Investigations Starter Set
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2019 10:30:17

City of Mist is a game that oozes flavor and has the flexibility to satisfy most player palletes. I've found that the starter set does a great job explaining the system mechanics with my appreciattion going to the point-by-point explanation of the character sheet and the sample playthrough to help explain how a typical session might go.

I will say it is a bit odd that there is one pdf file that has the MC (Master of Ceremonies - this iteration of a Game Master) portion added onto the Player portion, almost as if you had two seperate pdfs which are literally stacked on top of each other. Even so, the MC guide has a wealth of information and tips on how to understand and run the system.

One particular ssue has prevented me from giving a full five star review, that unlike the original starter set, there are no print friendly versions of the character sheets provided in the pdf. To print one for player use, printing the full page renders most of the mechanical power tag text quite hard to read, and the amount of pdf manipulating to print the provided sheets into two landscape sheets is currently out of my scope of skill. I would encourage an update where players could have the option to print a more printer friendly copy of the sheets.

To players looking to create their own personal Rifts (player characters) you won't find that information here. That is exclusive to the corebooks, and it doesn't like the company plans on releasing that information officially. Personally, I wish character creation was available freely given the setting and mechanics of the core game are enough to justify the core books value on their own, but it is tediously difficult to walk my online players through character creation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: All-Seeing Eye Investigations Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates