DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tiny Gunslingers
by Brent W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 20:08:48

Tiny Gunslingers is a role-playing game and belongs to the TinyD6 game line and as such is completely compatible with the other TinyD6 games and genres. So if you want to mix your western with magic, sci-fi, horror, and so on, it's got you covered.

I will not review the TinyD6 game system per se, but rather just the rules as presented here.

Basically, characters are still created by assigning a series of traits, of which there are 19 new ones focused on the Old West, along with the usual assortment from the other books. There are no stats such as Strength or Intelligence, nor skills. There are no races or classes (both called Heritages in TinyD6 terminology). Characters are entirely defined by their traits which give them a mechanical advantage in certain circumstances, and can replicate such things normally covered by stats or skills in other RPGs.

There is a well done mechanism for resolving shoot-outs/duels using a version of the classic card game Black Jack. A lot of games attempt to mechanically draw out the rising tension before someone yells "Draw!" and the bullets start flying. Most are too complex and time consuming. TinyGunslingers answers the problem with an elegant solution that also increases the lethality of a duel over regular combat. A nice touch!

Another addition is the use of Grit and Bounty which mechanically seems incomplete. Grit allows you to perform extra special actions, and the only way to regain Grit is by getting Bounty from capturing/killing criminals/bad guys. Characters may never have more than 3 Grit, but there is no limit to Bounty. There is a mysterious sentence that states since one may only have 3 Grit, extra Grit better be shared with the posse. How? There is nothing in the rules to clarify what that means or how to go about it.

The game is only 36 pages in a digest format and if you believed that this makes the game too short and thematically incomplete, you'd be right. Tiny Gunslingers was meant as a bonus mini-game for those supporting the author's Patreon endeavor. As such it does not include any information about how the Old West was, real or imaginary outside of some perfunctory paragraphs about a fictional location. To further muddy the waters, the Enemies section nearly exclusively provides examples of sci-fi western threats. I don't fault it for the missing or genre-inappropriate information as it was never meant to be a complete western source-book...except...for one criminal lack of discussion...

Indians.

There are no rules or commentary presented in the book that address Indians, Indian culture, Indians as characters, and so on outside of a single sample NPC. In fact, on a random enemy table that presents threats to characters such as bears, other gunslingers, or angry railroad workers, hostile Indians are omitted. There is on the other hand a rather sanctimonious paragraph that scolds the reader about not causing real mental health issues by engaging in pretend colonialism. Perhaps that is why the game is devoid of discussion of Indians for fear of offending someone? The tragedy of the American Indian should not be forgotten and it should be treated with sensitivity, but the solution to possible offense and stereotypes is omission? That seems perhaps even more racially insensitive than a negative inclusion. I believe this to be a serious misstep on the author's part. There are several blank pages at the rear of the book and I would like to see a revised version at some point address Indians in those available pages.

The Nitty Gritty Total Page Count: 36 Pages Character Creation: 11 Pages Game Mechanics: 9 Pages Everything Else: 16 Pages

Judgement: In the end, I love Tiny Gunslingers. Although it is a stand alone game, I cannot recommend it as a stand alone game unless you already have a good understanding of the old west. There is too much missing. As an addition to the TinyD6 line, I think it is a great vehicle for exploring genre-blending worlds. If you have Tiny Frontiers, Dungeon, or any of the others, this is a must-have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
by Jonathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2021 07:09:30

Excellent additions for Univeral and/or Hammer-style Gothic horror for S&W White Box / White Box Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game or other similiar OSR products. Like all White Box material, it's easily portable to other systems or hackable for your own ends. I'm looking forward to running a horror-themed White Box FMAG campaign with this as the primary supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells
by Alex J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2021 18:54:40
A new favourite

Purely and simply this is one of the easiest to use, best laid out books i've played...and I have a lot. Im tempted to buy the hardcover just because I am a fan!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knight's Gambit: A White Star Card Game
by MATTHEW A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2021 14:06:19

A lot of fun and easy to learn. My players enjoyed this card game so much they wound up playing it more than the rpg. Really nice for downtime and it can be fun just to reference to in game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knight's Gambit: A White Star Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by MATTHEW A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2021 14:01:33

I've played and ran a few campaigns for this game and I really enjoy it, and my friends really liked it. The only drawback we found was advancing a level didn't seem to pay off, only every other level do you get a new feature. Would like to see that element changed up, honestly. Other than that, this is a super fun system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Cthulhu
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2021 21:34:05

Confession first: I'm a fan of the TinyD6 games and Alan Bahr, and i backed this on Kickstarter, so I am predisposed to loke this game. And I do.

I'll start with a possible negative. If you are unfamiliar with the Cthulhu Mythos and want to learn more, this may not be the game for you. While it does offer a nice gloss of Cthulhiana, it also points out that the subject is large, deep and obtuse, and covered in depth elsewhere.

If you are familiar with the Cthuhu Mythos, or are willing to fake it, and want a fun rules light set of rules, this may be the game for you. Truthfully, I think you could run just about any sort of pulp/noir occult or occult adjacent game with TinyCthuhu.

I recommend this game 100%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Cthulhu
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2021 21:44:40

This is one of the first Tiny games I have purchased. I then bought Tiny Taverns and Tiny Gunslingers. The game is amazing, simple and if you are looking for a rules light system where you can let your players go wild, be silly and have fun, this system allows all the fun and story and the rules get out of the way. The only thing I would like to see in the future is something like a book with all the rules/traits from the various games. In the interm I will be purchasing the Tiny library and figuring out how to make my interdimentional tavern or my Musketeer Airship pirates game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells (Variant Cover)
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2021 23:03:40

Excellent space adventure game - i get a gonzo / space opera feel from the art but more 'serious' games can be run with the ruleset provided. IMO the setting and adventrue generation tools included are the highlight of the work. Game mechanisms are easy to pick up and rules are given for just about any kind of space game you would like to play/run.

Physical print of the hardcover was suprisingly good. Unfortunately POD quality is hit-or-miss even from the same printer. My copy survived shipping in good shape. Image and text quality are excellent, binding is glued as you would expect but seems solid enough. Cover is good - i would recommend paying the extra to 'upgrade' from the standard cover art to the variant cover if you're buying the hardback version.

I've become a fan of Diogo's work. His games feature rule mechaninsms that are not complicated paired with an open framework that provide setting and adventure generation tools for game masters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells (Variant Cover)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swordpoint
by Andrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2021 03:38:29

A great system building off of the BRP base. Not every element of the system makes sense, but it's very hackable thanks to the nature of BRP for GMs to adjust elements they may enjoy more/less. For what it is, it's an amazingly high quality product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Swordpoint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sagas & Six-Guns
by John P. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2021 09:43:02

Ever since the first generic RPG's appeared in the 80's, there has been a steady stream of unique combinations of genres. This is one of those. Combining two perennial favorites, the Western and Fantasy, the author has created a truly unique game world. Aspects of Norse culture have been woven into a place mirroring the Old West, setting the characters as the heroes and heroines of their own sagas, but with stetsons and six-guns. There is even a touch of the steampunk genre, again, well-integrated with the Norse-feel of the setting.

A detailed plot-point campaign and many side adventures enable a game master to put their band of characters into an epic saga at the very core of the setting.

Although they might be fought with guns, many of the enemies featured are the traditional Norse monsters and villains – giants and trolls, the restless undead, and followers of Loki – along with traditional Western enemies – villainous cattle-barons, bank and train robbers, and rustlers.

All in all, this is a solid setting and ready for a lot of fun play with a minimum of preparation beyond a basic familiarity with the Savage Worlds rules, or conversion to a GM's choice of other rule set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sagas & Six-Guns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Taverns
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2021 14:48:38

OK attempt at a new idea. I like the idea of a fantasy tavern (or I wouldn't have bought the book!) but by including literally every fantasy race ever invented makes it a mess to play. The rules are OK - but when we tried it the concept just didn't seem to gel too well at all.

I need to have at the rule set with a pencil erasing about 30% of it and try again. I suspect there is a decent game buried in there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Taverns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

For Coin & Blood: Second Edition
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2021 14:41:20

Old School D&D with a superb twist.

Human centric (it assumes all characters and NPC's are human by default) this game focuses on the dark side of fantasy life. A world where killing innocents and taking what you need is seen as morally neutral. Not to be applauded, but not forwned on either. Your character does what it needs to to make some money and keep on adventuring.

Magic and monsters are rare and unusual. you certainly wont be running "monster of the week" type campaigns with this rules set. But if you wanted to do "Lies of Locke Lamora" then this would be almost ideal.

I love the artwork, and the short pirce of fiction at the start and end set the tone very nicely indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
For Coin & Blood: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:44:40

It's very nearly everything I want in an OSR game. If I combine this with the magic system from Maze Rats or something like Whitehack, it might be my favorite game ever! I am also keen on reading the expansion book for this game. Might change my rating for the game as a whole even. In any case, it is well written and well conceived. Give it a read!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Frontiers
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:32:48

This game has all the character customization, easy to learn, micro-setting fun you could want! I just wish it had some sort of relationship or bond type mechanic so that the characters could have an easy way to fit together without elaborate backstories or full handwaving away their pasts. Otherwise, a solid title.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hero's Journey: Second Edition
by Lucas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 15:52:00

I am currently loving OSR games. The whole philosophy of rulings not rules, player skill vs character skill really drives me in, but I always wanted those principles applied to the fantasy that I most love, which is the Tolkenian fantasy. The Hero's Journey Second Edition does that and ace it! I really hope I can see more adventures, streams, and resources for VTTs for this system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 364 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates